Back to my roots- well almost!

Those of you who know me know my background was in textiles originally, my interests evolved into other areas of art and craft. I suppose to satisfy the ‘I wonder what would happen if’ part of my creative process.

For some reason I had an urge to go back and play with fibres recently, maybe because I just touched on felting but never explored it fully, or maybe it’s because I’m exploring clay just now. I know it may be difficult for you to see the connection between clay and textiles but I have had a vision  for some time to use textiles and ceramics together in my work.

I decided that I wanted to make something fine and cobwebby, maybe nuno felting using silk. There is such a lot of information on Youtube about felting, including nuno felting, have a look at these lessons numbered 1 to 7.

watch?v=rJElDl95Cw0&feature=related

So I collected my wooltops, bubble wrap, polyester fabric and some towels and set to work felting, I decided to try something without the silk, I was willing to risk holes as I thought I could work with them.

I rolled and rolled, and turned and rolled, and to my amazement my piece of felted fabric emerged. Then it was washed , dried, and blocked into shape.

porcelain and textiles

textiles and porcelainSome places are quite thin but I’m thinking of adding some embroidery, I have some beautiful silk and bouclé yarns, or maybe some machine embroidery with dissolveable fabric to hold it together until I have a framework of stitching.

I also thought about the porcelain flowers I’ve been making , they would look beautiful stitched into a fine piece of felt, with some beads or metallic threads to catch the light.

This was a fun thing to do an a refreshing change, it sparked off a lot of ideas. i don’t think it’s a bad first attempt , what do you think?

 

I’ve added a couple of fibre artists to my bloggers list

 

 

About eganj1

Obsession making arts crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to my roots- well almost!

  1. Nicola says:

    Hi Jill, Love your felt and really looking forward to seeing you combine felt and ceramic, wonderful combination of materials! I was smiling when I read that people might be surprised about you experimenting with felting because you work with clay. I actually often tell participants in my workshop how similar the two crafts are, one basic raw material (wool or clay), addition of water and working with ones hands, basic, simple and thousands of years being produced!!!

    • jille says:

      Thank you Nicola, your blog is such an inspiration. I’m not entirely sure where I’m going, that’s the fun of doing something different. I just wish I had more time to play with textiles, but I’m not complaining working :-)).

Leave a Reply

