Making plans for 2012

Edinburgh castleHappy New Year to all, if you are a designer maker like me, I’m sure your head will be filled with new ideas for 2012.

I’ve spent a few days in Edinburgh, bit of post Christmas r&r and also an injection of culture to get the creative juices flowing.

Photobucket

Photobucket

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I visited the Elizabeth Blackadder RA exhibition at the Scottish National gallery, which has me inspired enough to get the watercolours out again.

Also I was really inspired by so much at the National Museum of Scotland including the Lewis chess set and some Art Nouveau silver and enamel jewellery designed by Jessie M King, who I’d known only as an illustrator and not a jewellery designer.

There was a fabulous exhibition of contemporary tapestries at the City Art museum so I found something to inspire me in all my favourite disciplines.

I’m kicking off the New year by doing something totally new, a creative challenge with the Craft Pimp team to make a journal. This is something I have wanted to do for a while and I’ve found loads of inspiration but because it’s totally new to me I’m dipping my toes tentatively into the water. I could procrastinate for a long time but next weekend I’m going to dive in  when I have all the materials assembled. So far my plan is to try stitching on paper, with a bit of foil work and acrylic inks , but this all depends on my ancient sewing machine, so I have a plan B if it goes pear shaped,  watch this space.

First things first though, I can’t wait to get back to work on Tuesday and get my shop restocked next week.

Wishing you all the best for 2012

Path: p
Word count: 260 Draft saved at 3:17:12 pm.
ExcerptExcerpts are optional hand-crafted summaries of your content that can be used in your theme. Learn more about manual excerpts.

Send trackbacks to:

(Separate multiple URLs with spaces)Trackbacks are a way to notify legacy blog systems that you’ve linked to them. If you link other WordPress sites they’ll be notified automatically using pingbacks, no other action necessary.

Add New Custom Field:

Name Value
Enter new

Custom fields can be used to add extra metadata to a post that you can use in your theme.

Allow comments.

Allow trackbacks and pingbacks on this page.

Author

 

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

