Now for something completely different- the quest for perfect Yorkshire puddings!

I thought I’d try a bit of an experiment this weekend, a low fire technique!

As I’m living in Yorkshire I’m on a quest for the perfect Yorkshire pudding. My Gran’s family came from Yorkshire and when visiting her house we always had a piece cut off a large Yorkshire pudding made in a meat tin served with gravy BEFORE the main meal, I suppose to fill you up before the meat course.

So I’m going to try 4 different recipes, my own ‘ guessing the measurements’ one, an equal volumes one that seems to be favoured a lot by TV chefs, Jamie Oliver’s quick one and Delia Smith’s from the Winter Collection.

I hope you will join in and share your Yorkshire pudding making tips and recipes too. We are on a quest for the best Yorkshire puddings!

The batter.

1- Jamie Oliver’s 30 Minute Meals recipe

This was the simplest method, everything into the processor and a quick blend.
Jamie Oliver recipeJamie's recipe

 

 

 

 

 

 

2- Delia Smith’s from the Winter Collection.

Delia Smith
Delia’s recipe involves sifting the flour and mixing with an electric hand mixer.

Here’s a link to Delia Smith’s Yorkshire pudding recipeDelia

 

3- My own recipe.

mineI tend to make my batter rather thicker than other recipes, I just beat with a fork and I’m not that bothered about the odd small lump or two.

 

 

 

 

4- Equal quantities by volume

equal quantities volumeThis method doesn’t make a very large quantity of batter, unless you want to use a lot of eggs.

 

 

 

 

 

Cooking the puds.

I decided that although the recipe books suggested different sized tins I’d use all the same size so they would all cook in the same time. The oven was heated to 220C.

The first batch was cooked in foil trays, as I’m going to freeze them. I added about a desert spoonful of cooking oil to each tin , and put the trays in the oven to heat up.
IMG_2627
Then the trays were taken out of the oven and put on the hob, I lit the gas, the oil should be really hot when the batter is poured in, or so I’ve been told. Then the trays go straight into the over for 15 minutes.

 

 

The results.
jdme left to right

The results from left to right, Jamie, Delia, mine, and equal quantities.

The eating.

I can’t call this a taste test, they all tasted the same, but as you can see the appearance varies, and so did the texture.

1- Jamie

jamie2This one looks ok, the edges were nice and crispy and the centre slightly soft, It didn’t rise as much as some of the others, and it was ever so slightly tough. But later puddings weren’t tough, maybe after allowing the batter to rest.

 

 

2- Delia’s

delia2This one looked the best, it has a lovely puffy edge to it, it was very light, nice and crisp on the edges and soft in the middle. I liked this one best.

 

 

 

 

 

3- My recipe

mine2It looked a bit lumpy and uneven, it was the brownest one of the lot, it was light and fluffy but crisp, the slightly lumpy texture seemed to make it more crispy.

 

 

 

 

4- Equal quantities.

eqial2This one looked smaller than the rest, maybe I didn’t add quite the same amount of batter to the tin. It was crisp on the edges and not as soft in the centre as the others, it was very light. My husband liked this one best.

 

 

Small puddings

I cooked the rest of the batter in muffin tins, there is a marked difference in looks.

From left to right, Jamie, Delia, my recipe, equal quantities. As you can see the equal quantity ones look rather flat, but they were poured first so maybe that has something to do with it.
ltor jdme
So I had to try this again, but as I didn’t have much batter left from the equal quantities recipe I could only pour one pudding, and I put Jamie’s on each end.
diferent order pour

The one with the best rise was the third from the left, front row, that’s the equal quantities one, and notice the difference in the end ones, which are all Jamie’s batter.

 

Conclusion.

I’ve come to the conclusion that the batter recipe doesn’t make a great deal of difference in making well risen Yorkshire puddings. but getting them into hot oil, and quickly into the oven does play an important part in getting a good rise.

I would like to thank those Tweeps who gave me their Yorkshire pudding tips, I still have to try a recipe given to me on Twitter which uses some sparkling water in the batter. I’ll let you know how it goes.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

