Clay jewellery bits and a shoal of sardines.

I did get round to grinding the fish yesterday, and I have the cuts to prove it! I hate working with gloves, it’s like I don’t feel connected to my work with gloves. So having ground all my fish to make matching pairs I then decided to keep them as singles and drill them. Now they are fired I think I’d like them more in pairs so they are going back in the kiln today with wire loops for hanging.

If you follow my blog you will know that a little while back I made a plaster mould to make a bowl  ( remember my hand was almost set in a bucket of plaster ) So last night I decide to work on and try making a bowl using the mould. I had intended slip casting but as I wanted to press hosta leaves into the clay I thought I’d try it out by rolling a slab. It was a disaster, so I sat up ’til the early hours making beads , nothing was wasted and the clay was just the right consistency for bead making.

IMG_4003

And while I was at it I did some follow up experiments from a glass fusing course I did years ago, fusing leaves between glass. More in a later post.

Not bad for a day’s play, AND I spring cleaned the kitchen!

Here’s the copper and bronze clay pieces from the other day.
IMG_3993

And the clay greenware made in my moulds.
IMG_3992

BTW the housework and diet are paying off I’ve lost a couple of pounds in 3 days.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clay jewellery bits and a shoal of sardines.

  1. loving your new blog Jill. I looked in at the Eskdale show and thought your ceramic pendants and glass stuff were all lovely.
    ann

    • eganj1 says:

      Thank you Ann, they did tell me someone from IOW who said they knew me had been in. it took 2 days for me to work out who it was. I love your website, I’ve moved to Weebly too, it’s great

Leave a Reply

