Urchfont Manor- fond memories

14

I was sorry to read that Wiltshire County Council have decided to sell off Urchfont Manor. I suppose it is a sign of the times but it’s  a shame they have closed as they offered such a wide range of courses in a fab environment. Urchfont was a gem.

……………………………………..

IMG_8301My first course was with Arnold Lowrey. Arnold is a great teacher and I learned a lot from him, I can see now where I went wrong with this painting done on the course using Arnold’s techniques.

………………………………….

After one visit to Urchfont Manor I couldn’t wait to book the next course, this was the start of my conscious decision to learn some new skills on offer there, glass fusing and slumping, copper enamelling, and silver jewellery making.

So I wouldn’t be doing what I am doing today without courses at Urchfont.
IMG_9645

Courses and staff were warm and friendly, the food was delicious and the cook would share her recipes. I suppose Urchfont Manor was a retreat for me, with it’s wonderful grounds and sense of peace, what could be better than a break from work in such a wonderful environment, learning new skills and coming home all fired up and full of new ideas. I suppose I will continue to build on these skills, and maybe it’s time for me to pass some of them on and share what I know, that’s the ripple effect of learning.

through the wall

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Urchfont Manor- fond memories

  1. What a wonderful Gift you give to all of us by sharing this with us. If you don’t mind, could you tell me the location of this gorgeous old maner?

Leave a Reply

