Happy New Year, and a design exercise to get the mojo working

Happy New Year everyone, I hope 2013 is a good one for us all.

I’m finding it difficult to get back to work after so long but I have a little exercise to kick start the creative process, I learned this method of design when I studied C&G and although I usually have more ideas than I can keep up with I still fall back on this method when I need a little push. The great thing is you never know what you will come up with when you start.

Take an everyday object, I chose a humble toothbrush
toothbrush1

toothbrush

Study your chosen object and decide on something that interests you. A simple shape, or line, I’ve used both here.
Using pencils, pens, crayons etc do a simple drawing, nothing fancy, all you are doing is getting your ideas on paper.

design1You can see in fig 1 I chose the top of the brush, and the wavy line along the handle.

Now alter the drawing, add to it, or subtract from it, change the shape, stretch it, mirror image it, whatever you feel like. A bit of tracing paper comes in handy here. Keep altering and refining until you have something you are happy with.

Instead of the oval shape I tried triangle and square shapes, figs 3 & 4. In fig 5 I looked at rows of bristles.

design2As you can see I have a whole host of new ideas for jewellery, and 14 would be great for fused glass, textiles or ceramics. Who would have thought that I could come up with these design ideas from a humble toothbrush.
Give it a go, you will be surprised at what you come up with.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy New Year, and a design exercise to get the mojo working

  1. Mary Lou says:

    Hi Jill, I enjoy your blog. May 2013 be a good year for you too!

Leave a Reply

