A bit of baking- Gluten free banana and date muffins

My friend is popping round for a cuppa later,  she’s eating a wheat free diet so I thought I’d make some muffins using Doves Farm  gluten free self  raising flour. I started with this recipe for gluten free date and banana muffins but I changed a few things.

Firstly I made half the quantity of mixture, and I only had bun cases, no muffin cases so half the mixture made 9 small muffins. I used 3 small bananas in the recipe, and substituted the half quantity of butter for 2 tablespoons of sunflower oil, I didn’t have any molasses sugar so I used white caster sugar instead, and I omitted the walnuts.

They are baking as I type and smell delicious.

And here they are, next time I’m going to try some stevia and cut down on the sugar content. I’m on a quest for the ultimate healthy muffin so I’ll be trying some low sugar ones next time I bake muffins
gluten free date and banana muffinsI’m updating this post as I finally got round to trying the diabetic version of these date and banana muffins, I followed the changes that I made for the gluten free ones above but used ordinary self raising flour, and substituted a tablespoon of stevia for the sugar.

I have to say they aren’t as good as the gluten free ones, these are a bit pasty and don’t have a spongy texture, I think they seemed too wet and maybe they could have had a bit more flour in them but I’m sure they will go down well with a bit of custard . Next time I’ll try Delia’s muffin recipe and substitute stevia for sugar.

 
diabetic muffins

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in cooking, kiln fired art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A bit of baking- Gluten free banana and date muffins

  1. Mary Lou says:

    OOOH these look real good and they are healthy too Jill. Wsh I could cook like you. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Let me know how the stevia version tastes.

  2. eganj1 says:

    Reblogged this on Jill's blog and commented:

    Remember those gluten free muffins?
    I’ve gotten round to trying out the diabetic sugar fee ones so I’m updating this post

Leave a Reply

