Seaside inspiration

Robin Hood's Bay

Robin Hood’s Bay, a favourite for artists

I haven’t shared any of my inspirations for a while and  so I thought I’d share some recent inspirational photo’s.

I was fortunate enough to pick one of the best weeks of the year weather wise to visit Robin Hood’s bay. It’s a favourite place for artists and if I could find the time to get back into watercolours I’d love to paint this view of the rooftops.

Robin Hood's Bay 024

Cleveland Way looking to Robin Hood’s Bay

We did a lot of walking along the Cleveland Way, and I found time to relax messing about on the beach. The abundance of fossils and rockpools makes this a great place for beach combing,  I didn’t find any Whitby jet but there was a lot of inspiration.
shale.If you know me you will know I’m inspired by textures, this is a picture of the shale cliffs, what I love are the subtle variations in colour, and the flaky textures. How I will interpret this into my own work I’m not sure, clay work or possibly enamelling but I think this would look fabulous interpreted as felting, or rug making. Oh no I daren’t get back into textiles, I don’t have the room.
Robin Hood's Bay 123………………………………………………………..
Here’s another picture that would translate into textiles, I love the soft fluffy green areas, maybe nunno felting would give this effect but I have only tried the technique once.

………………………………………………………..

Robin Hood's Bay 087

these are my inspiration for some barnacle jewellery

I love these barnacles, I’ve already made some ceramic jewellery inspired by single barnacles but when I saw these my mind instantly went to metal clay. I shall definitely try something out inspired by these barnacles.

limpets 002

inspiration for jewellery making

………………………………………

These limpets, looked a lot more colourful when wet, the creams browns and greens instantly made me think of copper enamelling, so I’m going to take a mould from them and form them in copper clay, and have a go at enameling them, watch this space!

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seaside inspiration

  1. youtube.com says:

    It’s difficult to find well-informed people on this topic, however,
    you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

Leave a Reply

