West country onion soup

Here’s my English take on Fench onion soup made with West Country cider. I sometimes make it with a mild beer too.onion soup

I’ve reduced the fat content as much as possible. Spray the heavy bottomed pan with oil and sweat a coupe of thinly sliced onions, a couple of cloves of garlic chopped, and a pinch of sugar until soft.

West country onion soup

 

 

I believe the secret to good flavour is to get a good brown colour on the onions. Then add a bottle of cider , some vegetable stock powder, and some black pepper. Sometimes I add a bay leaf. Add water as necessary and simmer for about 15 minutes. Thicken with a little bit of cornflour mixed with water.

Can you tell I don’t really measure when I’m cooking.

onion soup and homemade breadI love the cheesy croutons on top of French onion soup but I’ve made a couple of slightly healthier changes. Firstly I serve with a slice of homemade seeded bread warm from the bread maker, and a little grated strong hard cheese into the soup to give it that lovely cheesy flavour.

This is a favourite soup in our house, and we eat it a lot in the winter, it’s keeps colds away.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in cooking, soup and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

