My nut roast

The ultimate nut roast.

I love nut roast but some are rather dry, I decided to have a go making the ultimate nut roast with all the flavours I like.

So, what do I want from a nut roast?

It has to have good flavour and texture, moist not dry, or too crumbly so it slices nicely. It has to taste good hot or cold.  I have a favourite Christmas stuffing recipe that has been handed down through the family, it’s basically a sage and onion mix with sausage meat and the unusual addition of chopped mushrooms. So I’d like to try and capture some of these flavours in my nut roast.

To make a nut roast basically you need texture ingredients, moist ingredients, bulking out ingredients, flavourings and a binder. To simplify a fairly complex list of ingredients I decided to divide the ingredients into wet and dry, then combine, add seasonings and something to bind the mix.

Here are the dry ingredients, I rarely weigh anything, it’s all intuitive.

  • nut roastNuts-about 120g almonds, walnuts, hazelnuts. Toasted in the oven and skins removed from hazelnuts, then chopped
  • Sunflower and pumpkin seeds toasted
  • Dry brown bread roll made into crumbs
  • Engevita, about a tablespoon

Wet ingredients

  • nut roastmushrooms
  • 2 carrots
  • an onion
  • clove of garlic

blitzed in the processor then sweated in a pan sprayed with a little oil, until cooked down a bit.

I added a few chopped fresh sage leaves at this point.

Then add the seasonings

  • vegetable stock powder
  • lots of ground black pepper
  • a dash of Worchester sauce, omit if you are vegetarian
  • a squirt of tomato ketchup
  • a dash of soy sauce
  • a sprinkling of cayenne pepper and about 1/4 teaspoon of smoked paprika.

Everything was mixed together with a beaten egg to bind it, I don’t know what the vegan option would be here. It was then packed into a lined loaf tin and cooked on 180C until firmed up and browned, about 30 minutes I think. And here it is.

Nut roastIt was incredibly good, nice and moist but sliced well. I served it one day with onion gravy and the next with a tomato sauce. I can’t wait to make another one, and of course you can ring the changes, adding different nuts, ground nuts, quinoa, cooked rice, barley or lentils. Change the herbs, mabye go Italian and addmixed herbs and tomato puree. Go Mexican and add mashed beans cumin, and chillies.

Let me know if you make it and what variations you might like to try.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in cooking, kiln fired art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My nut roast

  1. Sue Thomas says:

    I really appreciate your recipes. I am going to try the nut loaf soon and the West country onion soup when we have a cool day. Thanks so much for sharing your knowledge, whether it is something good to eat or something beautiful to wear or use, it is appreciated.

  2. julia.durrant2@waitrose.com says:

    That looks delicious Jill and I can’t wait to try your recipie. I’m also going to try your recipie with the addition of some squash.

  3. That sounds really nice Jill! I am vegan and I would use some ground flax seed mixed with a little warm water as a binder. You can get veggie Worcestershire Sauce too!

Leave a Reply

