Photographing silver jewellery on a white background

It’s Etsy Mentor Month, this is a team project where we pair up with another team member and help each other build a better shop. As photographs play a large part in having a fantastic shop it’s very important to get them right.

I have struggled for a long time to get good photographs of my handpainted ceramics on a white background, and also my silver jewellery on white. I know silver looks great on lots of coloured backgrounds but I’m trying to get a more coheisive look to my shop and as I sell such a wide range of items, like my handpainted bowls, fused glass items, as well as jewellery in a whole host of colours I’m trying to stick to white as a background.

Alina of AlinaandT  on Etsy has made a great, easy to follow tutorial  about photographing jewellery so I decided to take this a step further and try to get a good photo of my silver pendant on a white background.

I only have very basic editing software, Office Picture Manager, which comes with the Microsoft Office package, I find it easy to use compared to other photo editing software that I’ve tried so I thought I’d have a go, perseverence paid off and so I thought I’d share how I edited my photo to get the silver to look good on a white background.
PPhotographing silver on whiteendant collage

Click on the image to see a larger version in Flickr.

  • The first image is just as it was taken but cropped, you can see the white background looks grey.
  • The second image is adjusted using the ‘auto correct’ button.
  • I corrected the white background on the third image using the ‘enhance colour’ button.
  • Next I increased the tonal contrast, but it’s looking a bit yellow in the reflections now.
  • I reduced the colour saturation a little to lose some of the yellow.
  • The last picture is the final cropped image, sterling silver landscape pendant on a white background.

That’s one image sorted, it now needs to be listed in my shop and there’s a lot more photo’s to go!

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art, metal, photographing silver and dichroic glass, sterling silver jewellery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

