Product photography – shiny porcelain bowls

I find shiny porcelain lustreware really difficult to photgraph because it’s so reflective, the last thing you want is to see an image of yourself or your furniture reflected in the bowls. And the light distorts the painting, I don’t think there is much that can be done about that, and it gives life and movement to the porcelain, that’s why the images look dead and flat when taken in a light tent.

There are some things that can be done to help though. I’ve made some reflectors with cardboard and aluminium foil, so all that’s reflected is light, and they can be moved about to get the best effect, I propped one infront of myself so you didn’t see my blue jumper reflecting off the lustre.
setup (1 of 1)

Here’s my photograph of the lustre bowl, it’s not bad but the background isn’t white, which is what I’m aiming for, so it’s time to learn how to edit using Lightroom, there are lots of Youtube tutorials out there if you look.

bowl (1 of 1)

And here is the result after lightening the background. I think I can probably still improve my photograph but it has improved quite a lot in just a couple of days.

Now I better get painting those hare bowls

lightroom background (1 of 1)

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in ceramics, china painting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Product photography – shiny porcelain bowls

  1. Sue Reynolds says:

    Ooooh, that is gorgeous Jill! And the photo is really good.

Leave a Reply

