New porcelain paintings from Kiln Fired Art

New handpainted porcelain from Kiln Fired Art

Some new handpainted porcelain vases went off to the local gallery this week, just in time for the food festival. I’ve only had my work in there for a month but it’s going very well. The first piece is a vase with a Border collie,  sheep dog. This is a farming community and I see a lot of sheep dogs, they always look a bit bedraggled and have a slightly mean look but that’s because they are working dogs and not pets. I hope I’ve captured this in my painting.

P1110558The second piece has a red squirrel, I see these quite often and feel I know them quite well. They are very cute and fun to watch.
P1110554I have q number of new blog followers who don’t know about the porcelain painting process so I thought I’d tell you a little bit about the process.

I’m an artist but my ‘canvas’ is beautiful white porcelain, the paints that I use are overglaze enamels or china paints. These are finley ground mineral pigments with a few other ingredients, like flux, which is basically finely ground glass. I mix these powder pigments with a medium. I then paint on the porcelain, working mainly from light to dark building up the colour and tone in painting. Each layer of paint is fired in a kiln to about 800C where it binds with the glaze on the porcealin and becomes permanent. Most of my paintings have 3 firings.

I also use lustres and precious metals in my paintings, these are brown treacle like liquids before firing, which smell disgusting. A transformation takes place in the kiln and the lustre forms a thin layer of metal on the surface of the porcelain. Lustres are very beautiful as the reflect the light and are, well…… lusterous! And a devil to photograph!

This week I’m painting some stock for Christmas events , I’m hoping to be better organised this year so I don’t have to start work at 6am to fire 2 kiln loads a day.

Oh, and before I go, I’m really excited as I have a new kiln on order. I can’t wait for it to arrive so I can do some clay work and glazing.

About eganj1

Obsession making arts crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in Arts and Crafts, ceramics, china painting, kiln fired art, overglaze, Overglaze ceramics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

