Seasons of mists and mellow fruitfulness

Foodie Friday is all about free food today, well I had to buy the apple trees but that was a few years ago now. I’ve had a bumper crop of apples this year, and they are quite sweet so no need for sugar when stewing.

The apples are quite small but my apple peeler and core makes short work of it and nothing has been thrown away because I didn’t want to peel them.
P1110498
I’m having apples with everything just now, they are lovely chopped in your porridge in a morning, I throw in a few sultanas too.

I’ve a freezer drawer full of stewed apple, some was frozen in ice cube trays and I intend taking out small quantities to use in baking, I found a couple of websites that use apple sauce in baking to cut down on fat, one is Yummily and the other is Madhuram’s eggless cooking.

I’ve also picked some sloes and I’ve some gin on the go . The gin and sloes went into a large clean coffee jar with a couple of tablespoons of sugar. I’ve been shaking it for a couple of days and it’s already changing colour.
sloe gin making

I hope it’s ready for drinking at Christmas but it’s best kept for a full year, no chance here.

sloe gin week 1

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Seasons of mists and mellow fruitfulness

Leave a Reply

