Art Bead Scene ornament blog hop

Art Bead Scene are having an ornament blog hop so I decided to jump in, it’s my first blog hop so I hope I get it right.

I first set out to make a traditional Christmas decoration but at this time of year I feel really connected to the seasons, there is something very comforting in the rhythms of nature, so my decoration is nature inspired.
decoration

Inspiration

There is a place nearby that’s quite special to me, I love to walk in the conifer woods, I love all the mosses, lichens and ferns, and there’s some lovely stripy rocks which contain iron. My special place may be a little off the beaten track and peaceful now but it used to be a mining area, even  as far back as Roman times.

The components

All of the components in this piece are handmade by Kiln Fired Art, that’s me! I hope to be adding more metal clay and ceramic components to my Etsy shop in 2014.

IMG_0349aThe ceramic pendant was made from a cast taken from a branch found in the wood, I used some copper lustre on the high points to give a bit of extra sparkle.

The fir cone and fern charms were also made from the finds on my woodland walk, they are made from bronze and copper metal clay.

IMG_0346bI decided to make this ornament to hang on my door handle so I wired everything onto a copper washer, including one of my lampwork beads, I wanted to keep it looking rustic. The copper hook was forged from a scrap of copper wire I had left over from making a bangle, I ran it through the rolling mill to flatten it out, then textured it with my hammer.

All I need now is to find a bit of jute ribbon to tie it to the door handle. Edited to say the ribbon arrived just in time

IMG_0352Now grab a coffee and hop over to ABS blog  and visit the other blog hoppers to see what everyone has made.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Art Bead Scene ornament blog hop

  1. Vas Dea says:

    Oh – that is just lovely, what a delight, your components are beautiful and you have made such a pretty piece with them.

  2. Wow! What an elegantly rustic ornament. Such a beautiful mixed-media treasure – and you made all of the components yourself – wow!

  3. I love it! Very rustic, peaceful and natural.

  4. Heather says:

    I love this ornament so much! I hope to see much more of your work in 2014 – your ceramic and metal clay treasures are awesome. And this ornament – I’d be putting it on a chain and wearing it all year after the holidays.

  5. ladyflowersbysusan says:

    Ohhh, when I clicked on your blog your design literally took my breath away. Incredible composition. Wonderful beads. I love that you gave it its own place, on a doorknob, so that it could shine!

  6. I am really amazed at all the incredible work that was created for this challenge but I love your ornament most of all. It speaks to me . . . living in the Pacific Northwest I am surrounded by so much natural beauty and that is where my heart is. I look forward to checking out your etsy shop as I would love to use some of your beautiful beads in my work.

  7. Ema says:

    Beautiful! I just love this ornament.

  8. I like the organic, natural style that much! Beautiful ornament! And with the jute ribbon it’s just perfect for the big event for sure!

  9. Jo says:

    Fabulous Jill x

  10. Christie M says:

    This is beautiful- and how lovely to be able to hang it so you can enjoy it off the tree. The pendant is gorgeous!

  11. LiliKrist says:

    So full Joy spirit =)

  12. Laurie says:

    Really pretty! I like all the dangling things!

  13. eganj1 says:

    Thank you all for your comments and i look forward to the next blog hop

  14. niky says:

    Really beautiful design and such a lovely feel to it, I love the bail great attention to detail, I look forward to seeing more of your work!

Leave a Reply

