Grow Your Blog Challenge

Hello and welcome to my blog, my name is Jill, I live in the UK and I love blogging!
My blog is mainly about art and craft, porcelain painting, glass fusing, ceramics, with a bit about my travels and what inspires me. Oh, and a few recipes thrown in for good measure. My blog is where I just do my own thing.

I decided to join in the ‘Grow Your Blog’ challenge, which is being run by Vicki of 2 Bags Full in the hope of getting to know more blog and craft addicts like myself.

About me

I suppose a good place to start would be to tell you a little bit about me. I’m addicted to art and craft,  I grew up in a creative environment, my mother was a dressmaker, making wedding and ballroom dancing dresses so I was surrounded with beautiful fabrics and lots of sparklies, that’s probably where I get my magpie tendencies from. I’ve made things as far back as I can remember.

hare bowlI have to constantly learn new skills, so you name a craft and I’ve probably tried it. I always loved to paint and a chance meeting with a friend lead me down the porcelain painting path, which I really must love as I’ve been painting on china for about 25 years.

Once I got a kiln for porcelain painting I had to find out what else I could do with it, so I started glass fusing, then copper enamelling, metal clay and silver smithing followed. Now I paint porcelain, fuse glass and make ceramic, metal and glass jewellery and call myself a kiln fired artist. At present I’m playing with clays and glazes making ceramic beads, but that can change weekly, even daily.

I’m inspired by nature, I love textures, and pattern, I think the latter comes from my textiles background, and the former from wandering in the countryside as a child, watching water voles and other wildlife near my home. I still love wandering about in the countryside looking for inspiration.

I’m not sure if I’m obsessed, or just passionate about what I do, but it is a huge part of my daily life,  I have a mantra, ” I make therefore I am”

So why do I blog?

I love sharing my thoughts and inspirations but there is more to it than that, if you have read the book ‘The Artists Way’ blogging is like my ‘morning pages’, by the process of writing about something it becomes ordered in my mind, does that make sense?

So grab a coffee and feel free to have a rummage around my blog, I suppose it’s like  big chest in the attic, who knows what you will find, glass fusing tutorials, porcelain painting tutorials, and a few recipes, like my healthy chicken dhansak, and my Gran’s prize winning ginger cake, and even a few old drawings.

Here’s some pictures of what I do and some places near my home that inspire me.

I do hope you come back often, (you can sign up on the right of the screen), and if you leave a comment below with a link to your blog I will stop by and have a read and hopefully say hello. I mostly follow using Bloglovin so I can read posts over breakfast each morning, but I’ll try and leave a comment so you know I’m there.

Jill x

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Grow Your Blog Challenge

  1. artyshroo says:

    An EXCELLENT mantra ! Most awesome!Found you via ‘Grow Your Blog’ and glad I did. Best wishes from Shroo:)x

  2. *Wisher* says:

    i came via the grow your blog party.. is interesting to see someone porcelain and ceramic.. 😀 love the rabbit graphics. 😉

  3. Gaynor says:

    I just love your hares! So very talented. Lovely to see all the other things that you do too.
    Gaynor x

  4. pam says:

    Hey Jill popping in from the GYB team of volunteers. Welcome to the party!
    Beautiful post and lovely lovely work. I love the rabbits too :-))

    I’ll be back to poke around, for sure.

    Have a great time at the party!

    go easy ~p

  5. Dawn says:

    Wow. Your creations are stunning! Will follow you for sure!

  6. Jules says:

    Hi Jill, Found you from GYB. Absolutely gorgeous work. I especially love the hares, but all your wildlife art is stunning!

  7. Heather M says:

    Your art is just lovely. I too am inspired by nature. I look forward to following and seeing more!

  8. Veronica Roth says:

    Hi Jill, visiting you back from GYB. Love your work! I’ve done a practical class in copper enamelling at Art in Action this summer and just loved the process. Yesterday I took a silversmithing class and made 13 rings! Now I’m thinking of combining the two techniques…after I fork out hundreds of dollars on appropriate equipment…lol. Where in the UK are you? When I’m there I’m in OXON, close to the market town of Witney. 🙂 (following)

    • eganj1 says:

      Hi Veronica, I can see we are alike, learn one technique then it leads to another. I’m up north now but when I was in Wiltshire I did silversmithing with a lovely lady from Whitney called Pauline Payne, she’s a great teacher. Thanks for stopping by and I look forward to following your progress on your blog

  9. Silke says:

    What a gorgeous blog you have, Jill! I LOVE pottery of any kind and have already bookmarked your Etsy store. 🙂 Thanks for finding me! I look forward to many visits!! xoxo Silke

  10. wirednan says:

    HI Jill. I’m visiting during the GYB party and am very glad to have found your blog. Your work is beautiful.I’m a new follower and am looking forward to seeing where your work takes you.

  11. Hello! Love, love, love your blog! I cannot wait to see what else you create this year so I’m a new follower! That Christmas ornament is divine!! Hope you stop by my blog too at http://www.bluefinchjewelry.blogspot.com
    Rachel

  12. Beth P says:

    Hi Jill, great to meet you!!! Thanks bunches for popping over to my blog and leaving a comment and a trail of breadcrumbs so I could come over for a proper visit!! 😀 Your art is stunning and I shall look forward to many future visits as I am now a follower! 😀 This little blog party is really pretty neat… we get to meet so many diversified artists from beautiful places we might not otherwise see!
    Hugs always,
    Beth P
    (http://elisabetpollockstudio.wordpress.com)

    • eganj1 says:

      Hi Beth , thanks for following the trail back here. Yes this blog party is quite fun, it;s my first but I will look out for more. I’m looking forward to following your blog

  13. Claire says:

    Wow, your work is stunning, Jill – you are very talented!!
    Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving a lovely comment – it’s so nice to meet a fellow blogger in the UK 🙂
    Have a happy Monday x

  14. Good morning, your work is just so beautiful. I love reading and being inspired by others art-so I am going to read you on bloglovin. I am visiting from the party.
    Please stop by for a visit when you get a chance. I live very rural in Missouri, am retired and create things with fiber-quilting rug hooking weaving hand dyeing-I play with allot of different things. Nice to meet you Kathy

  15. Carol Cook says:

    I have been reminded multiple times that I need to read The Artist’s Way.

    Your work is wonderful and I will come back again and again to see what you are up to.

  16. Sarah O. says:

    Your own kiln? Wow! You make so much great stuff!

  17. Judy C says:

    Great blog. I love your work. I make jewellery as well – and have just started to make porcelain beads. It is a real challenge but I love it – so much to learn and amazing results. Thanks for sharing. I have subscribed to your RSS feed. Happy hoping!

  18. Dosie Rosie says:

    Having had a good poke around your blog you have a new follower, your hares are fantastic.
    Gillx

  19. wendy says:

    Hello, nice to meet you! I had to follow along, I love that you do a divers range of crafts

  20. Pingback: Grow your blog challenge -2015 | Kiln Fired Art Blog

Leave a Reply

