It’s been a strange week / building work

This week has been rather strange, firstly we have building work going on, more about that in a moment.

I’ve been flummoxed by modern technology, i.e. i-pod, wireless speakers, music on laptop and the connecting up of all three, but got there eventually. I’ve also done a mad thing and signed up to go to the gym, I’ve never been to a gym in my life, but I can’t have OH, my brother and his OH getting fitter than me. I think gym mania is sweeping the over 50’s, well, they are all over 60, I’m the baby! Fortunately I got out of going this week as I couldn’t get out to buy some trainers . I’ve also had computer problems, with adverts popping up all over the place, I thought Etsy had really lost the plot then I realised it was nothing to do with them. Thankfully Malwarebytes has got me back to normal again.

We decided to have our bedroom done, it’s time to get rid of some orange pine, and I’d like more hanging space, you would think getting a bedroom company to do that would be simple but not so, no matter how we tried we couldn’t get more wardrobe space without making the room look pokey.

You know how one job leads to another, we thought it made sense to update the connected bathroom first, it needed doing anyway. Also, with all the driving rain we have had lately several of the Velux windows were pouring in, so they need replacing too, that’s most of the rooms upstairs  and some downstairs having work done so lots of decoratingto do later. Then there’s my studio, more about that later.

So we have moved out of our bedroom, and there’s stuff all over the house. This is possibly my busiest time of the year work wise with 3 of my main events coming up. Trying to work feels like fiddling while Rome burns, but I’ve done it before so I know I can do it, and it will be worth it in the end.

Here’s some images of where we are with the work right now

 P1140368The cupboards are coming out and will be recycled to fit out the  garden studio.

P1140369One Velux window in, seven more to go!

P1140371I’m really pleased with the grey tiles, I was concerned they might be too dark but with the large window and white ceiling I think they will look great. Colin is doing a great job fitting, as you can see everything is lined up perfectly.

P1140374Workroom has become a storeroom, I know my craft fair stock is in there somewhere!

P1140377This is where my studio will be, I think they are putting in the electric cables next week. I have a plan to draw out, more later!

 

 

About eganj1

Obsession making arts crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s been a strange week / building work

  1. Sue Reynolds says:

    You’re a very brave lady – and it’s incredible that you can still create such lovely things in the midst of building madness!

    • eganj1 says:

      I’m still working with the builders in. It’s not as bad as last time whn i was working with the table tented in polythene. Who says you can’t china paint in a dusty environment

  2. Monique U says:

    Oh my, Jill, looks like you will NEED to go to craft fairs to escape the sheer madness of reno. I’m quite certain it will be worth the bother, just hateful when you are living through it. Eye on the prize, please 🙂 (And thanks for visiting!)

Leave a Reply

