Quiz results and Ramsons dip

If you want to know the answers to the wild flower quiz click here.

While I was out on my walk the other day I picked some ramsons or wild garlic leaves to cook with. And as with all wild food you need to know what you are picking as there are some similar poisonous plants around. I have ramsons in my garden so I know what they are. I remember childhood picnics in the woods and loving the smell of wild garlic.
IMG_0608
IMG_0491These are the leaves, you can see how it could be easy to confuse them with something poisonous like lily of the valley, but these have that distinctive garlic smell, and the flowers are quite different, I know what I’m picking. They also have a spring onion like flavour. Don’t eat anything you don’t know.

IMG_0492I make a rather nice dip using a teaspoon of tahini mixed with a tablespoon of Greek yogurt and a tablespoon of light mayonnaise so I added the chopped leaves to the mix.

IMG_0493I was feeling pretty hungry after and 8 mile walk so I swapped the crudites for ciabatta and a slice of turkey, it was rather scrummy , slightly oniony , creamy, and a little nutty from the tahini.

I think they would be great in egg mayonnaise, hummous and pasta sauces or salads

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

