My ultimate black turtle bean burger

An extra post from me today, I have a bad back today, I can’t sit but I’m OK lying or standing, and seeing the kitchen is the only room that’s unaffected by building work I headed that way this morning . It’s black turtle bean burgers for lunch.
black bean burger

I love making vege burgers, they can be quite versatile depending on the type of beans or lentils, spices etc. I do like the earthy flavour of black turtle beans and I cooked these from dried ones this morning, but a tin of kidney beans would speed up the making process. I don’t have any health food shops near me so I buy my pulses and seeds from Goodness Direct online

So here’s what went into today’s burgers:

  • Black turtle beans, not soaked but boiled until tender but not mushy, then drained.
  • An onion finely chopped and softened in a bit of olive oil in a frying pan
  • 2 chestnut mushrooms and a clove of garlic added to the pan and softened
  • Then add the spices, I used a teaspoon of ground cumin, a teaspoon of smoked paprika, a teaspoon of vegetable boullion powder, and a grind of black pepper.
  • Then add a tablespoon of tomato puree and cooked for a few miniutes.
  • Blitz the beans in a processor but not too smooth, then add the onion mixture.
  • I decided the mixture needed some salt and miso paste, about a teaspoonful, just to add a bit of savouriness. Also about a desert spoonful of sunflower seeds for texture.
  • Shape into patties and bake at 180C for about 15 mins, the mixture is already cooked so it just needs to firm up a bit and get a bit of toastiness on the outside. You could fry them if you prefer.

I served my burgers in a toasted bun with mayonnaise on one side, lettuce, tomatoes, sun dried tomato, ketchup on top, and a dollop of quacamole.

I have to say these burgers are very very tasty, probably the best vege burgers I’ve ever made, well until the next time!

 

 

 

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My ultimate black turtle bean burger

Leave a Reply

