Masking out for lustres using Silhouette Cameo

I’ve been meaning to show you this for ages, I did have step by step photo’s but I can’t find them so I’ll just talk you through the process for using the Silhouette Cameo to cut masks for lustre painting. Here’s the finished result.
P1140468I’ve used dampened paper as a mask for lustres for ages now, but for masking simple shapes, it made sense to try and cut out a more detailed design from printer paper using the Cameo. I used the design as a resist but you can also use the other half as a stencil, it was a bit floppy using printer paper and this design but you could use thicker paper or a simpler design.

So all I did was spray the paper with water and place it on the cleaned porcelain, let it dry then I sponged lustre over. I removed the paper before firing.

Then I applied another coat of lustre over the entire piece and fired again.

I do love my Cameo, I’m finding endless uses for it.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Masking out for lustres using Silhouette Cameo

  1. Helen says:

    This is absolutely gorgeous! What’s a silhouette cameo, though?

  2. Helen says:

    It’s ok, I just found it on Amazon… 😉
    Do you know of a similar machine that would cut tiny stencils for use on lampwork beads? Or would this one do tiny detail too?

  3. Carol Korros says:

    Hi Jill, I have my machine and have been learning to use it. I have purchased the vinyl and intend to use it like this. Thanks for posting this! Carol Korros

  4. marci blattenberger says:

    Hey Jill,
    Carol sent me the link . Dont know why I havent subscribed to your blog before but I ve remedied that now.
    This piece is awesome .. I ve been doing the masking with lusters for a while using the peel offs but I love the boldness of the design of this . I wouldnt have thought that just using wet regular paper would work . Hmmmmmmmm… So now you ve got the old synapses firing here LOL!.. That was one of the things I really loved about getting to spend time with you : throwing all the ideas around.
    Hope the new studio is coming along well.
    Hugs to you and Phil . Miss you both .
    marci

    • eganj1 says:

      Hi Marci, it’s lovely to have you here reading my blog, yes we had fun firing ideas back and forth. I will be picking your brains for clay advice no doubt. Off to the forum to have a smooch about.

  5. Hi Jill,

    This is so interesting. I love your innovative design using mask as a paper. Lovely piece.

  6. Pingback: Using the Silhouette Cameo cutter with ceramic clay | Kiln Fired Art Blog

Leave a Reply

