They survived the bisque fire

My ‘Wonky Pots’ survived the bisque firing, if you have been following along you will know I’m making these for my kitchen. I can’t decide on a glaze, they are stoneware but so far I haven’t had a lot of luck with blue stoneware glazes, they always come out grey , I have a white one so I might use some blue stain on the relief design and hope it shows through. If you have any suggestions I’d love to hear them
P1140829

About eganj1

Obsession making arts crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to They survived the bisque fire

  1. marci blattenberger says:

    These look great, girl ! AS far as color, have you thought of trying underglaze color ? I have a slightly different working process since I once fire rather than bisque firing the clay .. but the process should be similar for you .In some of the pieces I make , I will wait for the clay to dry , then paint them with underglaze colors watered down like watercolors . The colors settle more into the crevices of the design and get lighter near the surface so I get a nice dark-light color variation .. and with underglaze, the palette is nearly as limitless as with chinapaints. ( pinks are a little problematic.. but there are some nice purples that actually look very pink )
    i then clear glaze on top of that and fire the whole shebang up to cone 6. ( again , no bisque firing of the clay.. the raw clay, underglaze and glaze all are fired at the same time )
    You should be able to do something similar to this with your bisqued pots except that you might have to soft fire ( to about overglaze temps) the underglaze colors before you glaze the pots because the color wont sink into the clay like it does with the raw clay , so it would need to be hardened on … and then a clear glaze on top . You can also add the underglaze to the clear glaze.
    Have you hand formed the pitcher and cup or are they wheel thrown ? The visual balance on the handle looks great .

    • eganj1 says:

      Marci, I didn’t know you could once fire larger pieces. That’s how I was thinking of going only using this white glaze, I did a test on a pendantnd the blue still showed through.
      These are hand built, the shapes aren’t perfect and I deliberately left the join showing. I like the character of hand built and its a great contrast to porcelain painting. I was pleased with the jug, the rectangular utensil holder isn’t so good but they are my first attempt at hand building.

  2. marci says:

    Yes.. you can once fire anything .. its just a matter of firing slow enough that the clay can outgas before the glaze starts to seal . I really like these pieces.. and I think its clever to leave the joint showing .

  3. Linda Ricci says:

    Any transparent color will pool in your texture, usually deepen in color and give a nice coverage.
    I have a nice blue I use all the time. Your local pottery suppliers should have tests of their glazes on display to see the finished color.

Leave a Reply

