Hand painted kitchen tiles for a client

You know how sometimes things seem to be meant, well the company that made my bedroom furniture also make kitchens, and they happened to be looking for someone to paint tiles for clients. See it was meant to happen 🙂

I have just finished painting these tiles for my first client, they wanted indigenous British wildlife hand painted on their own tiles . My favourite subject!
bespoke kitchen tilesThe tiles were challenging in that they are small and long. I always test fire tiles before painting, this time the tile gave me some concern as the smell that came off was very strong. I was expecting the tile to have had a plastic coating and to be ruined but I was wrong, the porous backs must have been treated with something but the glaze was fine.

I didn’t want to take the risk of the tiles sugaring so they had to be completed in 2 fires.

Here’s some close ups of my favourite tiles. Hares are always my favourite.
kitchen tiles, hand painted

I chose a crested tit as my client owns a woodland
handpainted tiles

And a badger.

hand painted tile
I’m looking forward to future custom tile work, I enjoyed working with the clients and helping them realise their dream kitchen.

 

About eganj1

Obsession making arts crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hand painted kitchen tiles for a client

  1. Helen says:

    These are fabulous! :-). I have a suspicion more commissions will come your way!

  2. eganj1 says:

    thank you Helen, I hope so, looking forward to my first Aga mural 🙂

  3. Carol Korros says:

    Great work as always Jill. Love the texture of the coats on all of the animals.

  4. eganj1 says:

    Thanks Carol, that’s one reason I love painting animals on ceramic tiles. You can use the fact that it’s hard to lose the brush strokes to your advantage

  5. dingledel says:

    Simply stunning. x

Leave a Reply

