Pink elderflower cordial

Every year I plan on making elderflower cordial but it doesn’t happen as the flowers seem to go over very quickly. So yesterday when I was in the garden I decided to cut the heads so I was ready to go.

I had other things to do so I left the bowl  on the kitchen bench, don’t they look pretty?
elderflowers

Then OH said he thought there was a funny smell in the house, not unlike cat wee! Humm I thought, better get that elderflower cordial made, they do have a rather strange smell.

I have wild bushes in my hedge and a pink dark leaved bush that I planted so I thought, I wonder if you can make pink cordial.

The recipe I used  came from BBC Good Food website here . It’s very easy to make, just dissolve the sugar in the water, bring to the boil, add the rind of a lemon and the rest sliced, along with the washed elderflower heads and citric acid , then leave to infuse for 24 hours.
pink elderflower cordial

It’s now ready to strain and bottle, I’m quite pleased with the colour. I will be sampling it at the weekend, maybe in a G&T , or with ice and sparkling water

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

