It’s Blogtober!

The first day of October, and the first day of Blogtoberfest 2014!

So what is Blogtoberfest I hear you ask, well there is a link opposite that will take you to the host blog, Shells in the bush. Basically we are a group of bloggers who will try to blog daily for the whole of October, Blogtoberfest is a blog hop. I did manage it last year and found it a little challenging, but rewarding too.

I have also decided to challenge myself this month by learning to crochet the proper way, I’ll keep you posted on my progress, and how many granny squares I have made by the end of the month. I’m left handed and basically crochet like knitting, but I want to learn to hold the yarn the properly. I’ve always been interested in textiles, I grew up surrounded by sewing, knitting, and crochet and I used to work in textiles, but doing crochet the proper way has always eluded me, and I don’t like to let something get the better of me so  I’m determined to crack it this time.

P1160973 My yarn has just arrived, and I’ve found a pattern online, (more later) but now my biggest challenge is, should I  work left handed or right handed, I am left handed, but ambidextrous as most left handers are, you learn to adapt in a right handed world.

More later, I’m heading off to the studio now. If you are a fellow ‘Blogtoberfester’, leave me a comment and a link to your blog and I’ll head over and say hi!I’m looking forward to reading lots of blogs with my coffee each day.

Why not have a blog hop around the other Blogtoberfest participants

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Enjoy your day.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s Blogtober!

  1. Julia Hay says:

    Good luck with the crochet Jill.

  2. Wendy says:

    I have never managed crochet even though I knit, so good luck! I love your colour palette 🙂

  3. Anita Mistry says:

    Hey Jill thank you for visiting my blog earlier today. I used to crochet years ago but have lost the knack or keeping the tension correct all the way through the design. My mum used to crochet but never used a pattern.

  4. Jolene says:

    Looking forward you hearing your yarns and seeing your yarn 😀

  5. wendy says:

    I am very left handed. I am ambidextrous to a point, but I definitely favour my left hand. I learnt to crochet right handed and I’m glad I did. There was a girl at the same class who insisted on learning left handed and she struggled. Also, all tutorials and books etc assume you crochet right handed so you’ll be making your life easier to do so. Anyway, crochet uses both hands, so does it really matter? I think I move my left hand more than a right handed crocheter does, but it doesn’t make any difference to what I’m doing. I vote for right handed, I think learning left handed will just be a pain.

  6. eganj1 says:

    Thanks for all the comments, the crochet is on going, will tell you soon

  7. Pingback: I did it! | Kiln Fired Art Blog

Leave a Reply

