Why it’s good to have ivy in the garden

ivy
I have a bit of a love hate relationship with ivy in the garden, keeping it managed is an ongoing battle but I do love it as it’s there all year round.  I keep it is because I read it sustains more wildlife than any other plant in the UK, it’s one of the latest flowering plants and it can flower til November, it’s rich in nectar and pollen and it’s vital food for insects at this time of year. This was proven to me yesterday when I walked past a patch, the noise was incredible, and on further inspection I noticed the flowers were covered in bees, hover flies, flies and butterflies. Not forgetting the berries are food for birds later in the year , and also the nesting possibilities in spring, it’s also a good place for pupating butterflies and I even think my wood mice like living amongst the ivy too.

I also have four warring blackbirds in a heavily laden cotoneaster bush, you would think they could share, there is enough for all.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why it’s good to have ivy in the garden

  1. Anita Mistry says:

    Sounds like your garden is in full swing with all the insects and butterflies and warring birds. Anita

  2. eganj1 says:

    It is Anita, that’s what I love about a garden, so long as spiders and mice stay outside.

Leave a Reply

