Vegetarian alternative to sausage and mash

P1160794I thought I’d share one of my favourite vegetarian comfort dishes , it comes from Dennis Cotter’s book For the love of food.

I’m not a vegetarian but I eat a lot of vegetarian food, this is one of those dishes where you don’t actually miss the meat, but you could always cook a few butchers sausages for the meat eaters.

I do love this book for when I want something vegetarian but a bit special.

First let me show you our home grown onions that we grew in a grow bag, they wouldn’t in any prizes but they turned out ok.
P1160780

The mash involves roasting the parsnips first in the oven then blitzing before adding to the mashed steamed potatoes, I used to little olive oil spread and skimmed milk to keep it heart friendly. I can’t say I missed the butter. Once mashed you add some chopped chives which grow like wildfire all over the garden, only when I wanted some OH had chopped them down but I managed to find a patch he had missed.
P1160789
The mushrooms are roasted with sage butter ( olive oil spread), and the onions caramelised with a little brown sugar
P1160784
P1160787

I love this dish, it’s one of those simple comfort dishes I will make over and over, maybe use sweet potato in the mash, or turnip, swede, or rudabager depending on where you live. Next time I would add a bit of liquid to the onions to make a gravy, the mushrooms didn’t yeild enough juice.
P1160791

About eganj1

Obsession making arts crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegetarian alternative to sausage and mash

  1. Julia Hay says:

    That looks very tasty.

  2. Anita Mistry says:

    Yummy I need to get that book as I’m vegetarian and am always on the look out for new recipes.

Leave a Reply

