Could this be the last hare bowl I’ll paint!

I took this bowl out of the kiln this morning, I’ve painted many hare bowls over the years but this could be the last one I paint. I’m feeling quite sad that it’s getting harder and harder to find quality porcelain or bone china bowls in large sizes.
hare bowl, handpainted ceramics

It’s not just noticeable in the supermarkets that things are getting smaller for the same price, this has happened with my porcelain supplier. It’s been a downward slope for a long while now. I remember spending 2 days in Stoke on Trent visiting all the bone china manufacturers but now they have gone, I only know of one supplier of white bone china in Stoke now.

Ah well, c’est la vie, it’s time to move on.

The exciting thing that has come out of this is I’m developing new work in other media, it’s all very exciting and what fun I’m having. When one door closes another one opens.

 

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Could this be the last hare bowl I’ll paint!

  1. lzzybeads says:

    Look forward to seeing behind that new door Jill x

  2. eganj1 says:

    It will reveal more painted glass Laney. As well as hand built ceramics

  3. marci says:

    Well now, girl , You ll just have to learn to throw…………….in your
    spare time, of course.
    I am however absolutely loving the hares and sparrows on the glass
    pieces. Those are STUNNING !! Just out of curiosity , what would it
    cost approximately to ship one to the US? ( the glass pieces )
    Marci

    • eganj1 says:

      Hi Marci, lovely to hear from you. Oh how I wish I’d learned to throw years ago, but I don’t think my hands are up to it now.
      I am enjoying the glass painting, I’m not sure about shipping to the US, at a guess maybe £50 for shipping, glass isn’t insurable either so its a really big risk

Leave a Reply

