I remember

charles  r nicholson

Charles R. Nicholson, my Great Grandfather, died of wounds at Passchendaele in 1917. Here he is pictured with his wife Lily and my Gran, who was only 7 when he was killed so it can’t have been long after this photo was taken that he died.

My Gran kept his memory alive, and each year as I was growing up I spent Remembrance Day with her , she set the dinner table in the front room  and we watched the Cenotaph on TV. We had a special dinner in his memory, I didn’t realise it then but I do now, it was the only day we ever had a ‘starter’ or ate Sunday dinner in the front room.

I sometimes asked my Gran if she ever went abroad where would she go, her answer was always the same “I’d go to France” and when I asked her why she would say she would like to visit her father’s grave, sadly she never did. She would have been amazed that today you can actually see his headstone at Tincourt on Google earth, but I do hope that one day I will go there for her.

I remember you both today……….RIP.

 

About eganj1

Obsession making arts crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

