Clay bead moulds buttons and Christmas decorations

I need to make a few more Christmas decorations as they go fast, so while I had the clay out I thought about making for an event in February. It’s a Craft Kits event, and I will be supplying beads and buttons. I also need to stock up my shop with ceramic beads and introduce buttons.
P1170632

I haven’t done an event like this before so I need to get busy making.  I’ve made a few bead moulds, I had a problem with my buttons sticking, flouring the button didn’t help that much, so taking an approach from baking I floured the clay, just like pastry, and this was much more successful. They weren’t drying fast enough in the studio so I brought them indoors. Being impatient has it’s costs as some have cracked. I found the little squashed clay balls worked better than rolled out clay which cracked more.

P1170631

P1170630

I love making new things, and I’m looking forward to chilling over the Christmas holidays making beads and buttons. Now I’m off to design some button cards using my Cameo.

Related posts:

Handmade ceramic clay beads for jewellery makers

Ceramic beads and pendants, finally I get to play

Zentangles, clay and the stamp maker

One fire beads

 

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Clay bead moulds buttons and Christmas decorations

  1. Carol Korros says:

    Love these pieces. Are you using the Cameo for your textures?

  2. Veronica Roth says:

    I love the decorations Jill, love them to pieces! Will they be in the shop? I’d love to buy some. 😀

Leave a Reply

