Christmas with a Japanese flavour

I’ve had a bit of time out with my family so I have been absent from my blog lately. I needed a rest post Christmas making. I’ve had a lovely Christmas as it’s been a while since both kids have been home together.

My daughter brought lots of interesting snacks from Japan, things I’ve never seen before, some I couldn’t even guess what they were or what they tasted like.

Cute little animal buns with a custard or chocolate filling
P1180702

This is a dried fish snack which swells up as you chew it, think of the taste of crab sticks which gets stronger as you chew it. It was surprisingly moreish and I think it went down great as a snack with a beer.
P1180706

These are dried scallops which were much like the fish but scallop flavour.
P1180708

Rice snacks, cough sweets and dried plums, I haven’t tried these yet.
P1180709

Wasabi and a soy sauce for noodles
P1180710

A few different flavours made for an interesting foodie Christmas, salmon, wasabi and noodles are on the menu tonight

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

