Plans for Kiln Fired Art blog in 2015

After two weeks of lovely family time I’m trying to get organised and back to work, I actually got up before it was light and put the kiln on to bisque fire my beads and buttons that I showed you a couple of posts back. I didn’t intend starting work ’til tomorrow but now I’m ahead (ha ha), hopefully I will be glazing tomorrow . January is usually my month for experimenting and trying new ideas but I have an event almost every month next year, as well as keeping Etsy stocked up. A lot of the exhibits will be themed so that means new work, which I will enjoy, but as I want to get ahead I will be knuckling down making for the first 3 events, so less time for playing. I  have a list of  things I’d like to achieve in 2015.

  • Paint more
  • Draw more
  • Do some enamelling
  • Make some mixed media pieces
  • Learn how to make ceramic animal sculptures

I bought some new tubes of watercolours in luscious earthy tones ( I love earth tones) I’d love to paint some watercolours just for fun, but maybe also for decal production or even to sell. I also want to do some porcelain painting on ceramic pieces that I’ve made myself as well as more painting on fused glass pieces. Every year I say I want to spend more time drawing and keep a sketch book but the truth is I’m never short of ideas, in fact I can’t keep up with them all, but maybe a month of daily drawing would be good. I’ve ordered some copper so I will definitely be doing some enamelling, I love expressing my thoughts and inspiration that comes from the landscapes that I photograph. I’ve been planning some mixed media work for a long time now, but I need to find the time to bring it all together, watch this space.My book this Christmas is about making ceramic sculptures this is something new to learn in 2015.

On a different note I also intend blogging about my Great Grandfather who was killed in WW1, I have his war diary and it needs to be transcribed as it’s written in pencil and starting to fade. This is something I planned for the 100 year anniversary of WW1 but again time slipped by all to quickly. Today I’m downloading my Christmas photo’s and thought I’d share my garden visitors. I thought these were both voles until I zoomed in and cropped, it looks to me like a field mouse and a vole. I’m sure Beatrix Potter would do something amazing with these guys, maybe I should paint them, they are very cute, don’t you agree? P1180044 P1180050 P1180048

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

