My first sock on 4 needles

This is a ‘ta da’ moment in my life, I have wanted to learn to knit socks for ages but decided to bite the bullet as I’m taking part in ’52Things’ with the Craft Pimp Team.

I found a fee sock pattern calculator here

My sock isn’t perfect, there were a couple of dropped stitches that I had to mend, the welt is a bit slack but my Grandpa used to like handknit socks and he’d always say don’t cast on too tight, so that stuck in my head. I struggled wrapping the heel turns but I’ve now found and excellent video.

The toe shaping isn’t perfect but I found out on a forum that 2K2 is the same as Sl 1 K1 pass sl st over.

So here it is my sock, warts and all, just as well the wool hides a multitude of mistakes.
it fits!

But THE most important thing is, IT FITS!

my first sock
Now all I have to do is knit the second one, so do I repeat the mistakes to make a matching pair?

Well I suppose I will just have to see how it turns out, hopefully they will be the same size 🙂

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My first sock on 4 needles

  1. artyshroo says:

    Fabulous – it looks awesome! Of course, you’ll have to just HOP ’til you make sock number two! I’m so impressed – I can’t knit to save my life…I have knitting envy! good luck with future sockage – Shroo:)x

  2. Francoise BRIQUET France says:

    Congratulation Jill,
    I have not knitted with four kneedles since the very early years of my son now 47. I am not sure the results to day would be as good as yours. Keep up the good work

  3. Heather M says:

    It looks awesome! I recently knit my very first pair of stockings in Waldorf doll size and I thought I might throw my DPNs out the window at the heel turn. I’ve noticed many people using the “Magic Loop” method, it’s next on my list of projects to try.

Leave a Reply

