My latest crochet project

I’ve a couple of calming photos by a local photographer in my bedroom, one is sea and the other a lake,  I love them for their abstract qualities, and the colours are my favourite colours.

I decided to use Chip it to make a colour palette to help in choosing yarn colours for a crochet blanket.
pic2
pic1I would have loved to use natural fibres but the cost was a bit daunting. I think you get much softer colours in natural fibres. I decided to use Stylecraft yarn instead as it’s very affordable so no stress for a beginner, and I’ve used it before. They have a good range of colours so I saved some into a collage to see how they would look, but I added a few more colours when I ordered.

I was going to try a Larksfoot stitch blanket but when I went to Wool Warehouse my bottle went and I decided to stick with Attic24 Ripple Blanket pattern, only mine is twice the width and I’ve chosen my own colours.
larks foot blanket coloursThis is quite a large project but I’ve got ’til next winter to finish it, and it’s kept me warm in the evenings as the blanket has grown. Here’s the first colour repeat. I added a lot of beige to soften the look but would have liked softer tones, but in the winter we need a bit more colour so I’m reasonably happy with it.
P1180834

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My latest crochet project

  1. I’ve always wondered how people get those colour breakdown thingies – thank you so much for sharing this. Those colours are absolutely gorgeous – so soft and atmospheric. Your blanket will be just beautiful. I too have been drawn to the Larksfoot pattern and have it bookmarked but haven’t tried it yet. You can’t go wrong with Lucy’s ripple though. And it suits the soft rhythm of the colours perfectly. Wishing you a happy day, Jill! E x

  2. eganj1 says:

    Thank you for your comments, I agree Lucy’s blanket patterens are great, they got me wanting to learn to crochet. Yes the rhythm works well for a nice calming blanket. Maybe my next blanket will be a Larksfoot one.
    Have fun with Chip it, there’s also Design Seeds ( link below) but I don’t think you can do your own but I’m hooked on that site it so inspirational.
    http://design-seeds.com/

  3. Shoshi says:

    Love your blanket, Jill. Thank you for sharing Chip It! What a great idea. I’ve been wanting a palette tool for a while now, and this is so cool!

    Shoshi

Leave a Reply

