WOYWW week 14

Hello deskers, I’m playing with clay today, buttons for Etsy and some large hearts.  You are probably wondering what the pile of pasterboard is doing, basically it helps the ceramic pieces stay flat while they dry, and it also absorbs moisture.
ceramics collage
I will be glazing the buttons but the hearts will be bisque. I’ve been experimenting with scenting the hearts with lavender and rose geranium oils but I’m having a problem getting the scent to stay more than a couple of days. I have tried glycerin as a carrier but that didn’t work so if you have any ideas I’d love to hear from you.

It’s been a busy week, I got my blanket finished , it’s huge and I love it, but my wrists need a rest. I’ve ordered a jacket pattern that has a yoke with one large button, I’d like to add one of my own buttons.

blanketHere are the earrings that were waiting to be fired last week, I’ve made them into pairs with just a couple needing grinding and a few odd ones which will join the other dichro cabs that I have in my shop.

P1190962Now I’m off to Stamping Ground to see what everyone is up to.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to WOYWW week 14

  1. Jill Varga says:

    Hi Jill, put instructions how to scent the back of the hearts with essential oil on the heart string. Then people can scent their own to their own choice. I have found that the quality of the oil makes a lot of difference. The more pure and expensive work best. Regards, Jill Varga

  2. mrs c says:

    i love those buttons so pretty and really impressed that you have managed to complete such a huge blanket, i have good intentions but mine is tiny still 🙂
    Happy wwoyw
    love Mrs C.x
    http://craftroomdiary.blogspot.co.uk/2015/04/woyww-april-7th-2015.html

  3. Helen says:

    you have been busy! love the hearts and all those buttons! Happy WOYWW Helen #4

  4. morag says:

    What a great idea to use plasterboard to absorb moisture. I use air clay a lot and hadn’t thought of using it!!! I love your blanket. I have been crocheting a lot recently and it does play havoc on your wrists doesn’t it!

  5. Those buttons are gorgeous and oh that blanket is just amazing, no wonder your hands need a rest. I once did a blanket like that but not as big
    Bridget #1

  6. Robyn Oliver says:

    Hi Jill, lots going on at your desk…cool buttons and ear rings and the rug is brilliant. Have a great week Cheers RobynO#25

  7. Lisca Meijer says:

    I love your hearts and buttons! Beautiful! And the blanket is gorgeous too. Clever you!
    Have a good week,
    Lisca#19

  8. jan Spencer says:

    What gorgeous hearts and buttons and no wonder your wrists need a rest, the blanket is beautiful
    Have a good week
    Jan S no 33

  9. Oh my goodness–you make the cutest things! I can think of a zillion ways to use heart buttons. Happy WOYWW! Sandy Leigh #40

  10. Angela says:

    Hello Jill 🙂 you are tremendously talented! Thank you for sharing your creations. The blanket is really impressive and something to be very proud of 🙂

    Angela x
    Angelgreetings #28

  11. Julia says:

    Oh well done, that blanket is huge…im Too impatient to do such long rows, weirdly, I’d rather sew squares together!! Love the lace effect in the clay.

  12. Oh my goodness what an amazing blanket and so much work it really does look amazing. Oh and those heart buttons are beautiful I would attach instructions for the receiver to scent their own this way they can choose their own fragrance. Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful week.

    Happy WOYWW
    Hugs Eliza & Yoda 5

  13. PTaviss says:

    yummy, that’s how everything looks today.
    Happy WOYWW, thanks for sharing
    Pat #54

Leave a Reply

