How to make lined curtains

There are some things I have learned over the years that continue to reap dividends, one of these skills is the ability to make lined curtains. I’ve not bought ready made curtains in years. However it’s been a while since I made any and I wondered how well I would remember my mothers teaching, it all came flooding back and I found myself talking to my Mum and thanking her for passing on her skills.

First of all you need to know the finished size of the curtains, I measured what was already hanging there. Then out came paper and pencil and I drew a little diagram, adding 3 cm to the top of the 155cm finished length for turnings and 12cm to the bottom for the hem, so far this is just a rough guide.

As for the curtain width you need 1.5 to 2 times the window width, the exisiting curtains were 1.5 widths of fabric in each curtain so as long as my fabric is a similar width that should be fine.

Fabric samples were ordered and I worked out the quantity of fabric including extra for matching the pattern, I ordered pencil pleat heading tape and lining fabric too.

Fabric laid out, folded in half right sides out so the pattern is visible, then I measured 3 lengths and marked with a pin.
P1200189

Making sure each length starts with the same point in the design.
P1200190

One of the 3 lengths of frabric was cut along the fold line and each half was attached to the other fabric pieces. Phew the pattern matched!
P1200191

Linings were cut and joined in the same way. Now it’s time to join the lining to the curtain fabric down the sides , you want the seam to be 2 or 3 cms in , not on the edge so starting 3 cm down from the top edge of the fabric lay the fabrics right side together, edges meeting along one side, and sew to about 12cm short of the bottom. Then lay the curtain out flat and trim the lining so it’s 4 to 6 cm less than the fabric width. Pin the edges together and sew as before.
P1200198

Now it needs pressing, firstly turn down the top 3cm ready for the heading tape.
P1200200

Press the edge of the curtain 2 to 3cm in as allowed.
P1200201

This is the bottom where I didn’t sew right down, this makes hemming easier.
P1200202

Now it’s time to add the heading tape, you need to free the ends of the cord and turn in a bit of tape, hopefully you will have the loops for the hooks near the edge but with enough tape to stitch along without going over the hook loops.
P1200204

Here you can see how I folded the end in tucking it around the fabric and keeping the cord ends free.
P1200206

Then you do the same at the other end.
P1200208
P1200209

Stitching is straightforward, I like to stitch both sides in the same direction, and don’t stitch over the cords.
P1200210

Now it’s time to turn up the  hems, I hand stitch the curtain fabric one and a mitered corner looks very professional.
P1200217

Then stitch down the sides.
P1200221

Now the exciting part, it’s time to hang the curtains, after pressing of course. Pull up the cords and knot one end, then pull up to the desired measurement, a little over half the window with, then knot the other end. Don’t cut off the cord as you may want to undo the gathers one day. Instead twist the cords together
P1200223

Then let them go and double up in length, now just tuck the twist into the cords  to hide it.
P1200224

 

And here they are, the finished curtains, I’m very pleased with the result and it was very satisfying to make my own curtains.
P1200227

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to make lined curtains

  1. Pingback: Five on Friday – 5 things I learnt making a lampshade | Kiln Fired Art Blog

Leave a Reply

