A busy week of R&R

It’s been a busy week since Woolfest last weekend, I can’t believe we have done so much in a week. Woolfest was amazing, as always. I learned something new, Tunisian crochet, and I also learned you can use the drink Kool Aid to dye yarn. I must have a go at this sometime soon.

Note to self……. gather some fleece when out walking!

Last Sunday we took the ferry to the Isle of Man for a few lovely days with friends, I even had a paddle in the sea at Port Erin.
Douglas, Isle of Man

Port Erin, Isle of Man

The weather has been good  recently so we have been out walking, the problem is everyone else has had the same idea, Castlerigg stone circle looked like a bus trip had arrived.

Castlerigg stone circle

Castlerigg stone circle
Keswick is always lovely, especially down by the lake, and the fish and chips aren’t too bad either.Derwentwater

KeswickToday we did some proper fell walking, there are places you can escape the tourists and have the Fells to yourself. Blake Fell is one of my favourite walks, there are steep climbs but they are interspersed with easier stretches to get the breath back, and the views of the Western Fells can’t be beaten in my book.   Today was a sunny but breezy, the air seemed filled with the song of a multitude of sky larks, do they ever shut up I wonder.

The Western Fells from Blake Fell

Western Fells, lake District

The Lake District It hasn’t all been play though, I have been working too, my handpainted porcelain is still selling as fast as I can paint it, but you have seen that already.  I’ve been playing with a new line of glass too, different COE, and I’ve some silver clay jewellery in the kiln right now so hopefully I will have something new to show you soon.

Oh, I’ve made some glass fish too, will show you on Wednesday………

 

 

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A busy week of R&R

  1. Shoshi says:

    Thank you for sharing such gorgeous photos of the Isle of Mann and the Lakes! It’s a long time since we’ve been to the Lakes. So beautiful. Glad Woolfest was such a success! I’m very interested in the wool dyeing with Kool Aid. Thank you for your return visit to my blog, and I’m glad to report I’m feeling a bit better today so hopefully will get some creative time in before treatment no. 4! Looking forward to seeing your glass fish.

    Shoshi

    • eganj1 says:

      Hi Sochi, thanks for your comments. I’m glad you are feeling a bit better, enjoy your creative time. Will let you know how the dying with Kool Aid goes.
      Jill x

Leave a Reply

