Another small step – WOYWW

I have finally found a bit of time to play, a few weeks ago I managed to make a plaster mould so I can cast my own vases. Today I got the slip out and had  go at pouring. I discovered the hard way that if you don’t put the bands on properly all the slip runs out and makes a mess, how do I know?

Best not to ask!

Here is the plaster mould being made.
P1200122

Yes, I have a mould!P1200124 After a very messy time, (which I forgot to photograph), I have 2 porcelain vases drying out. P1220837

I know there is a lot that can go wrong before these pieces are finished but I’m learning all the way. Just wondering if I should wait until bisque fired to try and smooth them up a bit more.

Now if you would like to see what Julia and everyone has on their worktables today head over to Stamping Ground

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Another small step – WOYWW

  1. enigmaticpixie says:

    Cool. Love clay and the porcelain looks wonderful.

  2. Carole says:

    Looks fab Jill

  3. sue jones says:

    how clever! looks fab so far – hope it all goes well x Soojay 27

  4. smithgfb says:

    You are so talented and I love the look of the vases so far! This is a craft I’ve always wished I new about. Well done! Glenda #31

  5. Annie Powis says:

    Oh how lovely….I have very happy memories of working with clay at school….I do hope we get to see how they develop. Thanks for calling by at mine earlier.
    Hugs,
    Annie x # 22

  6. Lisca Meijer says:

    Wow! Beautiful vases! It looks really difficult to make that mould (apart from the messyness, which you won’t do again I’m sure). Do you sculpture the shape?
    Anyway, clever you. Now for the decorating. Looking forward to seeing the finished vase(s).
    have a good week,
    Lisca#24

  7. Jan Appleton says:

    I laughed at your question of ‘How do I know’!! Only cos I am capable of the most amazing mistakes that makes me question my sanity! Fabric the wrong way around, zips sewn to the wrong piece…easy, basic stuff. My seam ripper is used a lot 🙂
    I love the shape of those pots though..it was worth persevering!
    Hugs, LLJ 16 xxxx

  8. marci says:

    Hey Jill, been there done that with the slip all over the floor… I decided to just let it dry and then pick up the dry slabs… easier than trying to mop up the mess… and , if you havent fired the vases yet, I’d suggest smoothing them now …Its a lot easier to clean up greenware than bisque… You could try low firing them ( to low china painting temps.. 018 cone ) which toughens it up a bit.. ( Nice job on the mold, btw. )

  9. Diana Taylor says:

    Wow, I’m super impressed – how clever and what a great shape the vases are. I can’t begin to figure out how you made the mould – it all looks complicated and messy, but loads of fun and very satisfying too! I’m looking forward to seeing the finished vases. Hope you have a great week,
    Diana #49

  10. Julia Dunnit says:

    Every time I give a tip in a workshop about not smudging, leaking, dropping, wasting, I can safely and honestly say ‘ask me how I know…’ ! It may be annoying but it really is a good way to learn! I love that you’re casting porcelain, the shape of those cases is wonderful. I have no idea about which stage is the better one for cleaning off….I do know already that I love the finished product!

  11. Catherine says:

    What beautiful vases. What a wonderful learning journey you are on. Catherine x

Leave a Reply

