Chillililli

Chillililli, try saying that fast! I had few veg needing using up so I thought I’d have a go at making piccalilli, but my OH doesn’t like mustard so I changed the recipe adding curry powder instead of mustard powder, also sliced garlic, grated ginger and a chilli.

P1230116

There are loads of piccalilli recipes out there if you want to try for yourself. First you chop the veg and salt overnight, I was surprised how much water came out the veg. Then after rinsing they are cooked until just tender in the vinegar and sugar.

P1230118

Then you thicken with cornflour and the spices mixed with some of the vinegar.

P1230120

P1230121

Put in warm sterilized jars. It’s really very easy to make, and tastes great with cold meats, pies, cheese etc. I know the family will soon finish this lot off at Christmas.
Piccalilli

I like to seal the jars with cling film before putting on the lids as the vinegar can corrode the metal. You can tell you have an air tight seal as the film becomes concave as the pickle cools. This also means it should store well.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chillililli

  1. Sue Reynolds says:

    Fantastic post, I hate mustard, so might give this a try!

Leave a Reply

