Vases survived the bisque firing. Marci are you there?

I couldn’t wait to open the kiln this morning to see how the vases fired. I took the temperature up very slowly and the kiln had just finished by the time I went to bed.

The vases haven’t warped at all, and neither have my buttons so I’m a happy bunny , now I need to order some glaze. I haven’t used anything other than brush on glaze so if you have any tips to prevent pinholes and all the other things that can go wrong glazing I’d love to hear from you……… Marci, are you there LOL!

P1230362//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.jsP1230366//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js
P1230364//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vases survived the bisque firing. Marci are you there?

  1. Carol Korros says:

    Hi Jill! From my glazing days, I’ll say that the best way to avoid pin holes is to have your glaze the proper consistency which is fairly thin. Flow the glaze on. If the glaze begins to thicken while using, add a bit more glaze and a bit more water to thin it again.

  2. eganj1 says:

    Hi Carol, thanks for the tips, I watched a video where they poured the glaze over the vase, maybe that would be a good idea?

  3. marci says:

    Hey Jill, Im not sure how much help I can be since I raw glaze and dont bisque fire….I would go with carol’s suggestion … also , wiping down the bisque with a damp cloth to make sure there is no clay dust on it before you glaze…and if youre getting pinholes, then I would program in a soak at the end to give the pinholes time to heal …

  4. eganj1 says:

    Thanks Marci, will wipe them down, I haven’t tried glazing anything this size before. I will use the schedule my kiln man gave me it has a soak, and hope for the best. There’s such a lot gone into these, I feel they are like puppies and they need looking after

Leave a Reply

