500 posts! WOYWW

This is my 500th post here on Kiln Fired Art blog, I can’t believe I’ve kept going so long, so thank you to my followers as you have kept me going all this time, it’s great to get feedback.
I’ve been away with friends over the weekend so not much going on on my worktable for today’s WOYWW, but I hope to glaze the leaf buttons later today.
P1230479

We had a great time over the weekend including a trip Stratford upon Avon, and a visit to the FourTeas tearoom.

P1230444P1230445

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The decor is 1940’s, and the waitresses are dressed in period clothes. The crockery is green utility ware, and the menu was a ration book.

P1230425
Afternoon tea was a real treat, and not ration size portions, the whole experience was very enjoyable,  I was really taken the ‘Make do and Mend’ posters.

P1230435

P1230439

And as children are returning to school can you imagine  if they had reinforced clothes, although my lad would put the knees out of his trousers within the first week of school and always ended up with patched knees.

P1230440

I better head off down the garden path to get some work done but first I’m going to have a quick look at Stamping Ground to see what everyone has on their worktables today.

 

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 500 posts! WOYWW

  1. Those leaves look fabulous have fun painting them and the Four Teas tea room is lovely isnt it – I love their brie and grape sandwiches!

  2. LLJ says:

    How interesting that tea room is! Make do and mend really was the original recycling, wasn’t it?
    Am loving your buttons as usual 🙂
    Hugs, LLJ 5 xxx

  3. Robyn Oliver says:

    Congrats on your 500th post Jill – blogging is a bit addictive, but I think we get a lot out of it too. Love those buttons and the 1940s hints – pity more today did a bit of repair instead of tossing things out so quickly. Enjoy your week and thanks for visiting Cheers RobynO#22

  4. sandra de says:

    Wonderful posters …. haven’t times changed! Your leaf buttons are coming along nicely.
    sandra de @33

  5. Diana Taylor says:

    The tea room looks a fascinating place to visit – and such a good job to know the portions weren’t ration sized! I love the posters and it does make you realise what a throw away society we live in.
    Thank you so much for stopping by my desk, I hope you have a great week
    Diana #26

  6. Congratulations on your 500th post! Loving all those buttons. The ‘Make do and Mend’ posters are a hoot. Laughed when reading “and ironing wisdom”. The boys poster is still prevalent today, few know how to do much of those.

Leave a Reply

