A bit of textile art.

A bit of textile art.

I had some ‘me time’ today, I’ve been dying to do some textile work as I received some lovely books for Christmas, they have me feeling very inspired indeed. I absolutely adore Wendy Dolan’s book ‘Layer, Paint, and Stitch’ as it combines so many elements that I love, and I feel I’m returning to my roots as I was sewing on my mother’s machine from a very early age, probably about 5 years of age.                                                                                    My machine is rather old, it was my Gran’s, she left it to me so I’m quite attached to it.
P1280137I had a rummage through my sewing box, the blanket chest and drawers looking for old linens  and bits of lace, even the medicine chest yielded a crepe bandage and I went out into the rain and nabbed a bit of horticultural fleece from my planters.

I did a quick sketch of what I thought I was going to do but when I started cutting the fabric I liked the folds in a corner of a piece of sheeting, they reminded me of the Fells so there was a slight change of plan.

P1280135
I cut pieces and arranged them in a pleasing textural way. I put a mount over as this helps give an idea of how things are looking without the distraction of all the ragged edges.
P1280140Once the pieces were stitched into place I gave the piece a good pressing, then it was time to start painting. I used acrylics as I don’t have any fabric paints. The piece was pressed again. I felt a bit dubious that it was going in the right direction, so I laid over the mount again and moved it about until I found a part I liked. Sorry about the picture, it was starting to get dark.

P1280142Now it was time for a bit of machine stitching with coloured threads and some hand embroidery, I love embroidering, but this felt more like drawing with thread.

Here’s my finished picture, there are areas that I wish I’d done differently but on the whole I’m rather pleased with it, so much so I’ve framed it up and now I need to find a bit of wall space to hang it.
P1280147

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A bit of textile art.

  1. Sue Reynolds says:

    Stunning – I’ve been playing with similar techniques, but my results are nothing like yours! Absolutely beautiful Jill.

  2. Wendy says:

    It looks fabulous, you have a real talent! Textile art completely eludes me

  3. Veronica Roth says:

    Jill that’s beautiful. Well done. I can’t really sew at all…maybe some straight lines and a zipper or two…lol, but I love this. Oh, guess what. I did a little silk painting class at art in action a couple of years ago and promptly lost the cloth. I found it the other day stuffed into a sketch pad! What am I like. I’m glad you’re framing and hanging. 😀

  4. CS Art photo says:

    Very Nice Piece Jill.

  5. This is so beautiful! I am amazed by the result! I wanted also to wish you lots of happiness and love in 2016! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

