New work for a New Year

Happy New Year to all my blog readers!

I worked on another textile / mixed media piece yesterday, working well into the evening, I woke up and tweaked it a bit at 3am this morning.

The photo isn’t that good ( it’s better in real life) as it’s not really light here today.
mixed media pictureI was going to give you the arty explanation of my process but here it is in a nutshell.

Because of the nature of this subject, (small frothy white flowers) the piece could be a bit samey and boring. The great artist Arnold Lowrey taught me about repetition with variation, so that’s what I had in my mind when I was making this piece. I didn’t treat all the umbels in quite the same way, and I added interest to the focal point by using beads and some of my porcelain flowers grouped together. That yellow green streak doesn’t look so dominant in real life, but I will have another look at it and I might tone it down a bit with some acrylic paint. There are some lovely textures going on, here are some of the details. picture details
Wordpress tells me that my views in 2015 could fill Sydney Opera House 6 times over, so thank you for stopping by, and I wish you a wonderful 2016.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New work for a New Year

  1. Rena says:

    Really do like this! Also, thanks for cluing me into the soup pot. Got one for Christmas and it’s really great. No longer wondering what to do with leftovers.

Leave a Reply

