My first felt picture and the importance of L’s

I’m back to work today but I spent my weekend doing some more textile work as my dog brushes had finally arrived. I’m using them for carding fleece.

My first attempt at painting with fibres, it started off well but I wasn’t happy with how it progressed, I couldn’t decide what was wrong at first, it was all a bit too’ twee’ for my taste.

I got out my L’s, which consist of a picture mount cut into 2 L shapes.  You can move them about and decide how to crop a picture,to see what works best.I had nothing to lose as it was probably destined for the bin.

This is the crop I decided upon, it was originally a square picture, I have lost about a third of the foreground, the little cottage has gone, but this picture is much more my to my taste now, I like it.
P1280286

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My first felt picture and the importance of L’s

  1. Veronica Roth says:

    Ls are great! I need to use them more. Loving the new fibre arts Jill and good luck with the brushes and carding. I once had a woman come and ask for my malamute’s fur. I gave her about a million Waitrose bags full and she spun it and wove a shawl for a charity auction. It was amazingly soft and also amazingly unsmelly!

  2. Wendy says:

    I think it looks lovely. Are you planning on stitching on it?

    • eganj1 says:

      Thanks Wendy, it has a little bit of stitching, and it had a lot more before I chopped off the bottom. There was a cottage and a road with a stitched fence but that’s gone. If to do anything more to it it won’t be much, I like the simplicity of it.

Leave a Reply

