WOYWW – taking product photos

Hi all, I still don’t feel like heading out to the studio so I’m catching up on things I can do indoors. I am working on my photos just now. It’s still a challenge due to the dark overcast days.

So my worktable today is my dining table where I’m taking my photos. Today it’s covered in buttons, as you can see there’s a lot to photograph, all the ones on cards are new listings, well they will be when I get them listed 🙂

ceramic buttonsI am trying to make my photos stand out more by using props, but without the props taking over. I’ve tried a few different things, I use wood and leaves quite often but for my buttons I thought bobbins, lace and a tape measure would be good. When I uploaded my pictures I noticed I had ‘Made in Taiwan’ running along the tape measure. Not good, but even the professional photographers get it wrong, my wedding photos have ‘No dogs allowed’ in the window just above my head, this was the days before digital. At least I can airbrush and crop my photos.

P1280670

Here’s a view of my shop page with some of my old listings, and the new ones. I think the new photos are much better, and the proof is in the pudding (as they say), because within a couple of hours of changing the pictures I sold some buttons. I’ve just got, well I don’t know how many photos to edit and list so it might take me a while, maybe the weather will have improved by the time I’m finished.
buttons pix
I’m heading over to Stamping Ground now to see what everyone is up to today.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to WOYWW – taking product photos

  1. Robyn Oliver says:

    Fabulous buttons and great advert photos….very clever. Happy WOYWW enjoy your week RobynO#36

  2. Great buttons – will bear those in mind when needing some interesting ones. Funny about the made in Taiwan x Jackie 26

  3. You did a good job with the photos! I like the ones with the lace best. Cute buttons! I had a little nosey in your Etsy shop – your fused glass pieces are amazing! Makes me want to have a kiln – if only I had somewhere to put it! Happy WOYWW! zsuzsa #48

  4. Barb Williams says:

    What beautiful buttons. I think they look lovely photographed with the lace. I had to smile at the made in Taiwan. Have a good week. Barbxx #39

  5. Ali H says:

    All looking very professional ! Great shots ! Ali #13

  6. Julia says:

    You’re right about the props, I know you don’t need me to say that as you have proof, but isn’t it amazing! The buttons look great, and I don’t think the light you’ve captured is too bad at all.

  7. great looking buttons. I like the ones with the props but the other ones are bad either. Have a great week and thanks for sharing. Vickie #61

  8. Catherine says:

    Those buttons look fabulous. Thanks for sharing and see you next week. Catherine #67

Leave a Reply

