Five on Friday – Sea Fever

I miss living close to the sea and sometimes I get a yearning to for sights and sounds, and to smell the sea air. So I headed off to the coast earlier in the week, we had the shore to ourselves.

Sea Fever‘ by John Masefield was playing in my head.

I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by;
And the wheel’s kick and the wind’s song and the white sail’s shaking,
And a grey mist on the sea’s face, and a grey dawn breaking.

I must go down to the seas again, for the call of the running tide
Is a wild call and a clear call that may not be denied;
And all I ask is a windy day with the white clouds flying,
And the flung spray and the blown spume, and the sea-gulls crying.

I must go down to the seas again, to the vagrant gypsy life,
To the gull’s way and the whale’s way where the wind’s like a whetted knife;
And all I ask is a merry yarn from a laughing fellow-rover,
And quiet sleep and a sweet dream when the long trick’s over.

P1290082
P1290085
P1290078
P1290073

There is a wonderful calmness about these photos, I love the abstract qualities of photos like these.

P1290097

 I also collected some driftwood to use in my art, and my prize find was the lovely sea worn brick which will become a stand for my work.

This is my first Five on Friday post, run by Love Made My Home, you can read more by clicking on the link on the right.

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Five on Friday – Sea Fever

  1. Your sea photos are incredibly beautiful. I too miss the sea – your post has given me a breath of it though. Enjoy working with your finds! By the way, I absolutely love my glass plaque with the little wren I commissioned from you last year. Just thought you might like to know! Have a lovely weekend! E x

  2. eganj1 says:

    Thank you for your comments Thomasina Tittlemouse, I’m glad you enjoyed my photos, and you still love your glass wren hanging.
    Jill

  3. Beautiful photos and some great finds for your work. The sea certainly looks calm for this time of year.

  4. What beautiful pictures! You have some great finds there too don’t you, the piece of brick is very intriguing! Thank you for joining Five On Friday, happy weekend! xx

  5. Those are beautiful sea photos. We love the sea too, but don’t live close by, but do visit our daughter who lives by the Pacific Ocean. I love collecting driftwood and other treasures. Last year the grandkids helped me collect driftwood, shells and flat rocks and I made some garden art out of them.

  6. Rosie says:

    Oh, how lovely! I always look forward to my first visit to the sea each year, I hope it won’t be too long. Great photos of the beach and I love the treasures you collected:)

  7. Barbara says:

    One of my favourite poems. I can imagine how you must miss the sea. I need only be away on holiday for a few days and I miss it! Your photos are beautiful and I love your driftwood finds. Have a great weekend.

  8. Veronica Roth says:

    I miss the ocean when I’m in OXON too. I guess once you get that salty heart, it never changes. Beautiful pics Jill. 😀

  9. 1066jq says:

    One of my favorite poems, there is something so magical about the sea. We live very near, but seldomly go and when we do go we wonder why we don’t do it more often.
    Love your photos.

  10. Karen says:

    A lovely post, and you have brought out the sea yearning in me, also! Beautiful photos, poetry and beach finds. The worn brick is very special. xx Karen

Leave a Reply

