Succulent planter finally finished

Remember the planter I made using a doily impressed in the clay? You can find it here.

I have finally gotten round to glaze firing it. I like it but it’s not quite the colour I had in my head, it will look great with the grey green succulent though, I need some gravel to plant it up and then I’ll show you how it looks.
succulent planter
Ceramics are such a learning curve, I’m enjoying my journey, even with some unexpected surprises along the way. The bottom of this piece is fully glazed, so I stood it on some metal stilts, however they bent during the firing and I’ve a big mark on the bottom of my pot. I don’t know how to fire a fully glazed piece this size, maybe someone out there can tell me.

About eganj1

Obsession making arts crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Succulent planter finally finished

  1. It is beautiful!!! It looks like lizard skin or something similar. I have no idea about pottery, but I wonder if you could fire it upside down, so the support would be inside the pot – assuming that isn’t glazed? Just an idea looking at it from an “outsiders” point of view. Hope you work it out because it is a beautiful pot. xx

  2. Wow! This is so beautiful! I love the texture and the colors!

  3. Gorgeous work Jill! Can’t wait to see it planted up 🙂 As Amy suggested, upside down could work using shelf props, the opening is off centre though so you’d need to check the balance. You could also use wax resist to create a bare foot, put the liquid resist in a tray and stand the pot in to it to get a neat finish.

  4. eganj1 says:

    Thanks for all the brilliant ideas, if I make another one I will try them out.

  5. Karen Crimson Kettle says:

    That’s beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

