WOYWW – clay stamps and more of my ceramics learning curve.

Hi all, it’s Wednesday again so it’s WOYWW with Stamping Ground. I do enjoy my Wednesday blog hop.

I fired the clay stamps I made last week and I’m quickly testing them out so I can show you. I thought my little hand carved hogweed one wouldn’t be much of a success but I actually like that one the best, the stylized flower worked well too, I have a plan for this one. I wish I’d left a bigger base on them so there’s more to play with when cutting out the clay, but I think on a curved surface it won’t be such a problem. I shall have to make some more of these.
P1290359

This is how my table looks today, I’m glazing beads. The big jug was made when I was living in Yorkshire, so it has become known as the ‘Yorkshire Jug’, it does have a rose emblem on it. It didn’t glaze very well so I’m adding some more glazes ( mixed layers of different colours) and refiring, there’s nothing much to lose. I love experimenting, you learn so much.

P1290357I have been listening to Chad Dickerson on Youtube while glazing my beads, that’s why my tablet is there.

The 2 pillow vases at the back are the ones where the glaze fell off when I tried to fire them, I’ve scraped off the flaking glaze and fired what was left on them, they need to be done again, I think I might just coat with a brush on glaze and forget about dipping for now.

The little lace pot and vases look great with their glazed inside and bisque outside however I got some glaze on one so I’m having to glaze the outside, not worry I love cobalt blue.

I got some stain on the ring dishes, now they need a clear glaze.

I fired one of the little birds with stains on to colour it, but it warped as it wasn’t lying flat on the shelf, but I do have a plan for the other birds. More next week!

I love my ‘play time’ , In fact I cherish my time learning new stuff, but I’ve had less time to play. Maybe there will be more of a balance this year.

And finally I eventually got the succulent planter glazed, scroll down to the last post if you want to read more about that.

Enjoy your day.

 

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to WOYWW – clay stamps and more of my ceramics learning curve.

  1. The stamps turned out really well didn’t they! I look forward to seeing more. xx

  2. I also think play time is valuable for exploring new ideas and sometimes whist trying to fix a ‘mistake’ you find something new. I have looked at your beads on flickr and they are lovely. Have a productive week x Jackie 22

  3. Julia says:

    Oh they are a decent size..I thought they were minute from your first picture. This clay and firing lark is a right old learning curve isn’t it. I love the Yorkshire jug btw.

  4. LLJ says:

    You really do make some beautiful things! I love the shape of your Yorkshire jug, so pleasing, and that hogweed stamp works really well!
    Hugs, LLJ 17 xx

  5. Diana Taylor says:

    Your desk looks so interesting! I love the stamps you made from last week, they are looking lovely and the jug is gorgeous – what a fabulous shape. Have a great week, and thanks so much for the visit earlier.
    Diana #23

  6. Sharon K says:

    It’s always fun to visit your blog and see what you’ve been up to with clay. I see some beautiful pieces in the background.

    Sharon K #45

  7. Sandy Leigh says:

    Wow, I didn’t know you could make stamps with clay – so cute! I love YouTube while I’m crafting. Happy WOYWW! Sandy Leigh #44

  8. Vicky says:

    so many things going on, have fun.

  9. okienurse says:

    great looking desk. I loved to work with clay and ceramics but as I have aged the arthritis won’t allow me to do so any longer. Love the stamps! I am a little late getting around but I made it! Thanks for sharing and I hope you have a great week. Vickie #71

  10. Bubbles says:

    Such a lot to look at – and I am totally in love with your ‘Yorkshire Vase’ – it is so beautiful. I love the little bird stamp – wren, or robin? You’r so clever – your work is stunning.
    Have a wonderful Wednesday 🙂
    Bubbles #33

Leave a Reply

