Five on Friday – Treasure!

We are cleaning out the loft, it’s got so full we couldn’t get anything else in there, so time for a clear out. In doing so I found some treasures, some to keep, and some to go on their journey.

The first item is rather strange, I’ve searched the internet to find similar but to no avail. It’s a bar of soap with CWS on the back, which is the Co-op. After a bit of help from a friend we decided it is commemorating King George VI coronation in 1937.

P1290719

This leather clutch bag was made by my Grandpa when he was in the army around the time of WW2, he was in the Cameron Highlanders and had an accident whilst training, he wasn’t expected to live so my Gran and my Mam went to Strathpeffer to live for a while. Fortunately he recovered and he learned leatherwork as part of his convalescence. The badge is the Cameron Highlanders cap badge, the initials are my Gran’s. I gave it a clean up with leather cleaner and I’m thinking I might keep my  crochet hooks in it.

P1290710

I found this biscuit tin containing his leather working tools so I might have to have a go one of these days.P1290713

There were 3 pocket watches in the tin, I never saw Grandpa with a pocket watch but I do remember his father having one so maybe they were his, who knows. One thing I do know is that coal miners would be very proud of owning a pocket watch, they didn’t have much after all. P1290714

In the box of old photo’s I found a picture of 4 very proud looking miners with their Davy lamps, the only one I recognise is the one in the front who was a distant relative, I think he was my Gran’s cousin. I think this photo tells us a lot as most photos were taken in studios with back drops, so I wonder why these coal miners had their picture taken, their clothes and faces are clean so it looks staged but with the bricked up doorway and dirty window frame I think it would have been taken outdoors.

P1290711I found a lot more probably worthless but interesting treasure but I’ll save that for another 5 on Friday.

 

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Five on Friday – Treasure!

  1. Jan Doling says:

    How fascinating to come across these objects. I found lots of similar things when my Mum moved from the home she had lived in for over 55 years. xx

  2. What a superb post. Yes! Keep your crochet needles in there. I think that would be marvellous

  3. riitta k says:

    What lovely treasures you have found! The soap is really interesting and beautiful.

  4. Ellen says:

    Wow! You really found some interesting treasures. What a lot of history…

  5. Linda says:

    What treasures! my loft needs cleaning out too but I know I wont find anything interesting just a whole load of junk! I love the bag it would be ideal for your crochet hooks. 🙂

  6. Tammy says:

    Those are really interesting family treasures. Good thing you are having a clean out. A shame to have them hidden away. happy weekend, Tammy

  7. 1066jq says:

    I think you found some wonderful treasures, love the leather wallet.

  8. Marie-AZ says:

    What amazing, wonderful family treasures! I loved every one!

  9. What amazing historical treasures you found! I think that you should use them all apart from the soap of course! Use the tools and pouch and display the watches and photograph! Thank you for joining Five On Friday, Happy Valentines! xx

  10. Karen Crimson Kettle says:

    It’s amazing what you find in lofts! All those treasures hidden away. That soap is very unusual. 🙂

  11. Rosie says:

    Lovely finds in your loft and with so many memories too. I love the photo of the miners with their Davy lamps:)

Leave a Reply

