Creative Sundays – Week 1

Hi, welcome to the first of my ‘Creative Sundays’ blog hop posts. If you follow my blog you will know I’m cleaning out the loft. The reason I wanted to go up there in the first place was to retrieve my rocking chair. My MIL bought me this chair when I had my first baby so it’s quite sentimental. I decided to give it a revamp with some Annie Sloan paint. As you can see it’s quite a yukky dark brown, and very tired looking.
P1290720I did sand it and wash it down before starting to paint even though they say you don’t have to sand. I started underneath and as you can see it covers very well, the colour is Aubusson blue.
P1290721
This is after just one coat
P1290722And after a second watered down coat
P1290723
As I had loads of paint left so I painted the little pine side table.
P1290724
I was hoping to show them waxed but having had problems in the past with patchy waxing I have decided to invest in a proper waxing brush.
I found a great video on Simply Reinvented Blog I can now hopefully do a better job using less wax.

I will show you them later once finished, I’m going to make a seat cushion for the rocking chair, so come back soon, now I’m off to have a look at what the other Creative Sunday’s blog hoppers are up to. I hope you enjoy your Sunday

Jill

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Creative Sundays – Week 1

  1. It is a beautiful colour isn’t it! I look forward to seeing it all waxed and finished, although the chair looks great already! xx

  2. It took me two trys to do the linking you might delete the first one. Love paint job going to check out the waxing brush too! Thanks

  3. eganj1 says:

    Thanks for stopping by, I think the linky thing could be better, I will see what I can find for next Sunday

  4. Love the colour, I fancy painting an old dresser one day.

Leave a Reply

