WOYWW – something different – mixed media!

It’s been too cold to work in the studio, and my new sewing machine has tempted me to play indoors so here’s my work table today
P1290985

  • Starting at the back I have a pair of L’s clipped together, they help me to get a feel for a picture, I can see what’s working and what isn’t much better when I use L’s.
  • To the right is some wadding and fabric left over from a cushion, and a coat hanger (  come back on Sunday if you want to know more.)
  • There’s my instruction book, which I need to look at regularly.
  • A sample testing out the stitches.
  • A mixed media picture that I’m working on, including the little blue tit.

Here’s a better view of what I’m playing with. I’m learning as I go. So far I’ve joined a bit of left over curtain fabric and an embroidered pillowcase. This was coloured with acrylic paint , but first I used a stencil cut with the Silhouette cameo and put on some gesso. I didn’t expect it to repel the colour so much and stay white, I thought it would absorb more colour. The blue tit is painted on fabric using acrylics, I have to say I’m really pleased as I didn’t expect to get so much detail on fabric.

P1290988The next step is to embroider some flowers and foliage and work on my bird. I can’t decide if the 2 styles  work together, maybe the background is too stylised to work with my little bird, but as he isn’t attached yet who knows what I will do next. Come back on Sunday to find out.

I’m off to see what Julia is doing, and everyone else at Stamping Ground

 

About eganj1

Obsession making artsm crafts, and all things creative
This entry was posted in kiln fired art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to WOYWW – something different – mixed media!

  1. Lynn holland says:

    I think it will build up nicely once you get stitching. It’s quite exciting. I must remember to come back Sunday. Have fun
    Lynn 19 X

    • eganj1 says:

      Where do you live, I’m moving there LOL!
      Thanks Lynn, I hope I stop procrastinating over it and get it finished by Sunday. But there will be some progress at least

  2. I have the opposite to you and that it is too hot to craft, hahahha I am more productive in winter but then again our winter is only 13C so it’s nice
    Bridget #8

  3. Diana Taylor says:

    I am loving what you’ve done so far – I think the little bird is going to look beautiful against the background – it’s all looking rather gorgeous so far!
    Hope you have a great week,
    Diana#23

  4. LLJ says:

    Yay, another sewing machine on WOYWW!! I’m loving what you’ve done so far…it’s good to just experiment and see what works. I think your L’s are a great idea!
    Hugs, LLJ 13 xx

  5. Vicky says:

    this is already so beautiful, the bird does fit I believe, but the surrounding is a bit white, maybe also color it blue? happy woyww Vicky#3

  6. Caz Newton says:

    Those Ls are a really good idea! Will definitely be back later to see how you’re getting on, it’s looking very good so far!

    Happy WOYWW
    Caz
    #31 unless Mr Linky has changed it!

  7. zksmith says:

    That’s mixed media, all right! Love the stenciling and the use of the two different fabrics with the print and the embroidery. Your painting is amazingly realistic and perhaps you’re right that it may not suit the stylized background. You could paint a whimsy bird straight on the background! Will be interesting to see what you decide! Happy WOYWW! zsuzsa #38

    • eganj1 says:

      Zsuzsa you have given me an idea, I will make a stylized bird and finish the background then see which one I like best, the other one will get used in another project I’m sure.

  8. That’s a really great start, Jill. Well done you – something a bit different to try.
    Take care. God bless.
    Margaret #40

  9. Shel C says:

    What a fascinating project. I have always looked for ways to incorporate fabric into my mixed media..but I always seem to go for glue instead of stiching. I look forward to seeing what it is like finished. Shel/PaperOcotilloStudio #48

  10. dawn says:

    Ok, after looking at my 4th or 5th sewing machine desk I am going to have to get mine back out and get creating! I moved onto painting years ago and have never combined the two but you have inspired me to have a go…love your piece so far, fab.
    Dawn #45

  11. Sharon K says:

    Very pretty. I can’t wait to see how it turns out!

    Happy WOYWW
    Sharon K #47

  12. Annie Powis says:

    I’m just in from my afternoon school run and having done the morning school run and a full day of sewing in between I’m feeling rather jaded but as you can imagine those little ones never fail to put a smile on my face so it’s all worth it.
    Thanks for dropping by at mine earlier.
    I’m so glad I’ve called by at yours…that sewing looks wonderful.
    Hugs,
    Annie x # 10

  13. Julia says:

    Well, talk about a change of direction! I love what you’re doing so far, I think as long as you keep your mind open to it, it’ll all come out beatifully. See my problem is that I envisage the end result and can’t then stray off the path – ridiculous, huh. I love the Blue tit..wonderful painting!

  14. It is beautiful! I look forward to seeing more!! xx

Leave a Reply

